Vote! Readers to determine overall ‘Adventurer of the Year’

Who deserves the title? National Geographic Adventure this week unveiled its 2013 “Adventurers of the Year” in a video featuring 10 people pushing limits around the globe. But now the publication is leaving it up to readers to crown an overall “People’s Choice Adventurer of the Year.”

Watch the video, read about the adventurers, and then go here to cast your ballot.

The picks this year include climber/artist Renan Ozturk, BASE Jumper Felix Baumgartner, climber David Lama, explorer Mike Libecki, humanitarian Shannon Galpin, kayaker Steve Fisher, skier Josh Dueck, snowboarder Jeremy Jones, surfer Ramon Navarro, and ultrarunner Lizzy Hawker.

Voting for the “People’s Choice Adventurer of the Year” runs this week through January 16, 2013, at

—Stephen Regenold