Mora Knives

More than 100 years ago, in the rural Swedish village of Ostnor, just outside of the well-known town of Mora, a knifesmith named Erik Frost founded Frosts Knivfabrik. The Mora region was renowned for its high-quality blades, and Frost built his company on knife making principles and practices that had been handed down for many generations.

Today, Frosts Knivfabrik (www.frosts.se) is still producing knives, and its tough blades have garnered a following with hunters, hikers, campers and survivalists in Sweden as well as the United States. The company’s signature knives are classic models with 3- or 4-inch blades, a wooden or plastic handle, and a price that is usually less than $10. These humble knife models are referred to simply and universally as Mora knives.

Mora-large.jpg

(Over the years, there have been other companies to market Mora knife models, but often they were knock-offs of Frosts Knivfabrik designs with inferior blades. However, KJ Eriksson, a company with ties to Frosts Knivfabrik and a factory right next door in Ostnor, Sweden, is considered an original Mora knife manufacturer as well.)

What makes a Mora knife so special? They’re cheap, lightweight and simple — a no-nonsense knife that comes with a plastic sheath. Its straight blade is sharp out of the box, and it feels well-balanced and strong in the hand.

But what really has made Mora knives famous are their superior steel blades. The steel, which comes in four varieties from Frosts Knivfabrik — carbon-steel, stainless, Triflex and laminated-steel — is known to hold an edge well, and it is regarded as extremely tough and resilient. Indeed, a common survivalist endorsement of Mora knives says that in a time of dire need one of these knives can be used to fell a tree by pounding the blade in and hammering the knife back and forth to slowly cut through the trunk.

A grown man can also pound the blade of a Mora knife into a tree and stand on it without hesitation, or so portended the common wisdom and folklore that I’d heard.

To see what these Swedish knives could actually take, I recently found a tree on my family’s property that needed to be removed and went to work with a Mora knife I’d picked up in Sweden earlier this summer on a trip through the country. The tree was a box elder, and I managed to hack off a 6-inch-wide branch with the knife in about 10 minutes, repeatedly pounding the blade in a couple inches with a log and then forcing the handle back and forth to cut.

continued on next page. . .

Posted by Buzz - 03/16/2007 06:16 PM

Found mine on a road, been a great knife.

Posted by Eli - 07/10/2007 06:59 PM

I have been an amature collector and user of simple tools since i was a child. my grandfather gave me my first knives….two the summer i turned 10. one was an old timer three blade pocket that i still have (but have shelved for sentimental value) and a mora that he carried until that summer. he had picked it up when he was in the service in the second world war and had served him well over the hears. the leather sheath was darm brown like a good baseball mitt and the blade was black execpt for the edge from all the years he had used it.

he passed it to me and to this day, that frost is with out question better nearly all the other blades i have aquired over the years. it’s carbon steel, rarely needs honed, let alone sharpened, serves as my camp, fishing, hunting and utility knife to this day and other than re-finishing the hardwood handle and the two or three hones i do each year, care for well, it will last several more generations.

i have cleaned fish, gutted game, prepared veggies in camp, feathered kindling, split 3 inch timber with a baton, cut cordage, etc over the years and though i love my various victorinox, gerber, case, etc. i still have yet to find a blade that is more useful, functional and simple than that frost.

i have purchased several of the ‘modern’ frost blades with stainless, blended and carbon blades with the synthetic handles and sheaths and have found them as capable, useful (and because they are so inexpensive) and hardy as my grandfathers.

I have split the plastic handles on two of them by banging on the ends, but please note that the handles broke, but the blades performed well. i have put bends in them from using them as a pry, scraped firesteels, shorted a car battery trying to deal with a broken battery terminal (and started the car) and despite the outright abuse, they have never let me down.

the flat grind makes the edge obscenely easy to keep and just as obscenely sharp. the simple and proportioned blade length and thickness lends them well to nearly any task from carving to gutting to chopping and splitting.

regardless of spending 10 bucks for a cheap one or several hundred on a collection quality piece, the mora design is one that has nearly no equal.

even if you can’t stand them, buy one, beat the snot out of it and then tell me it wasn’t worth the money spent. if you can do that, then up is down and the world truly is flat.

Posted by CoyoteLongrider - 09/15/2007 09:59 AM

I whole heartedly agree with this review and comments. For hunting and camping I exclusivley use the various Mora knives. They are an affordable and extrememly efficient knife—better than knives that cost considerably more. Actually, the best knife I have ever used over the last 40-years.

I also use them in my kitchen as they are superior slicers due to the Scandinavian grind—which by the way is the easiest grind to resharpen.

A very complete sales listing and informational site on these wonderful knives can be found at ragweedforge.com

Posted by CherylfromSeattle - 05/29/2008 10:42 PM

Do NOT order from buckshot’s sport. It has been over a month and I still have not recieved my mora knife! I have called 3 times and emailed twice with no response and voicemails. I just reported them to Better Business B! I hope I get my order. :(

Posted by samh - 06/09/2008 10:36 PM

I’ve owned three Frosts Mora blades. All excellent knives. I purchased them from http://bensbackwoods.com located in Michigan.

Posted by Moski - 08/26/2008 06:39 AM

Just a quick comment on those Mora Knives !

Here in Sweden, all (and i do mean all) craftsmen where at least one at work,
most of us, uses two of them, one sharp and one dull.

We use them like a sort of multitool.

When i worked down in OZ for a year, i went nuts without them,
so my dad had to send down a bunch.

Cool, that they have been recognized outside our country as well !

Posted by Stephen Regenold - 08/27/2008 10:42 AM

They’re great for carving marshmallow sticks around the campfire or to keep in a pack for use in an emergency. I keep a couple around all the time.

Posted by playinem121 - 10/25/2008 11:33 PM

The Moras are fantastic! I acquired my first at 18 while in the military in Europe. That knife is still going strong after 30 years and virtually every type of use and abuse. I have two others as well. With minimal care these knives will last several lifetimes and they hold an edge as well or better than knives many times their price. Moras are probably the best value around in outdoor gear.

Posted by t.c. worley - 03/12/2009 06:06 PM

I found a few options for Mora’s on the EDC website that advertises here on the GJ.

Link:

https://edcdepot.com/merchantmanager/index.php?cPath=1

Based on what I have read here and elsewhere, I ordered one of these today. Looking forward to putting it to good use.

Posted by Dana Buglione - 03/27/2009 10:35 AM

I currently own 2 moras, and have had one for about 5 years. One is the original S-2 mora with the wooden handle and the laminated steel blade. This thing is EASYYYYYYY to sharpen, and can be honed to a scary sharp edge that will easily shave the hairs off your arm with one stroke.

The other is the Mora 2000, which is a stainless steel model. The blade is about an inch wide, and closer to 5 inches long. The handle is much more comfortable for those of us with big hands, and is a FANTASTIC knife. Though, the stainless is a little bit harder to achieve a razor edge with, but it still has the scandi-grind.

The best part is, these babies are so cheap that you don’t feel bad losing one, and they regularly outperform every knife I’ve ever used, even a 300 dollar custom made bushcraft knife chiseled out of 01 high carbon steel.

BOTTOM LINE: You wont be disappointed, these bad boys can do it all

Posted by ninja-elbow - 04/03/2009 12:27 PM

I just got a couple of the Sportman’s Guide Moras (carbon blade) and have been using them the past 4-5 months in many endeavours. It’s tree, dang good knife. I am slightly shamed that I have spent so much money on knives (less collecting and more addiction but I use/used them all) to find out so late in the game that Mora’s are indeed good knives.

I have carbon steel blades and let a nice patina work into them. I even like how that looks.

Posted by hunting equipment - 06/30/2009 09:59 PM

Mora knives are very good but old knife are the best. The older the better. At least that’s what my gramdma told me.

Posted by rwadams - 11/03/2009 02:53 PM

I have four Moras and all are outstanding. Tough as nails and razor sharp. A Smith’s sharpener (Walmart) works very well to put a good working edge on them.

Posted by Jason Klass - 01/01/2010 08:12 PM

I just ordered one. Video review to follow.

Posted by Tom - 01/15/2010 04:09 PM

Add me to the list of VERY satisfied Mora knife users. Folks if you’ve ever felt like a dummy cause you just can’t sharpen a knife, let me tell you what I found out when the knives arrived. You aren’t the dummy, knives with fake edges are what’s stupid. I also got mine from ragweedforge and received them quickly. You can’t beat the price OR the product. How many things can you say that about?

Posted by Knife Reviews - 01/20/2010 12:34 AM

Mora makes some beautiful knives!

Posted by joshua dyck - 03/01/2010 04:33 PM

I love that Mora knives are finally getting the respect, I used one for 28 days in southern utah on a survival course, sharpened it with sand paper, when ever i use it people are amazed to find out it cost next to nothing. However you have to admit, the sheaths are lacking a bit (don’t worry im not complaining) I want a new sheath for mine, any suggestions?

Posted by jason - 03/04/2010 04:37 PM

I used to have a wooden handle Mora when i was a young boy 10 or so, my grandfather gave it to me, being a kid, i was rough as all hell on it, and i never had to sharpen it, it always kept an edge.
Anyways so i lost it a few years later in the woods somewhere, and searched for a long time for a decent knife, old timer was my favorite for a while, ontario makes good stuff as well, then i saw 2 Swedish Mora Knives for $25 at sportsmansguide.com, i ordered those badboys, and again i find these to be easily the toughest, most practical knife ive ever used. Practical functionality over style.
Very dependable, ill be buying more for certain.

Posted by Jay - 04/10/2010 11:04 PM

I’ve just recieved my Mora knife. A little odd looking but i really like it. what i do like is how lite it is some of my other knifes, are quite heavy

Posted by billy mason emaghok - 08/08/2010 05:36 PM

I love these mora knives.The reindeer herders of the beafort/delta area of the nwt have used these long lasting knives…the hbc store use to supply the mora knives in their stores in the north…my dad..was a reindeer herder and always used his mora knive…for work and trapping…thank you for suppling such an amazing knives…cloest outlet that supply these knives is over 500 miles…an ordered by air…

Posted by ReginaPhalange - 08/21/2010 09:53 PM

Just got my hands on a Mora Clipper, stainless version and with a bit of trial and error I got a shaving sharp, push-cut-newspaper edge on it.

Posted by pegazpegasus - 09/15/2010 02:10 AM

i bought 2 Mora….1 is a frost
the other….its a blade without the handle..(i wanted to do my own handle and sheath….this blade its a tiny bit smaller…half tang…and the blade says“Mora of sweden.carbon steel”
the cutting edge is half the blade!. it feels like having a very strong scalpel in my hand……and the edges have some “stripes”, like they were hammered unto the core blade….how could i get more info about this blade?…i checked the Mora catalogue and nothing….i want to know how the blade got these very convenient stripes….thank u all

Posted by Paula Tibbetts - 10/01/2010 07:47 PM

I have a Mora knife that was my Dad’s. It has a wooden handle. As a child I remember him using it, & when I was a bit older, we’d gut the trout he caught with it. It says G.C. & Co. Mora Sweden and has the number 501. It’s worn & has been used thousands of times over the years.

Posted by Ignazio - 11/03/2010 09:07 PM

I bought a 4” carbon red wood handle Mora afew years ago for a weeklong outdoor survival class after seeing great reviews for it elsewhere.
The knife did not disappoint ! No you cant beat the hell out of it like a Rambo knife i.e. short sword, but if you respect it, it will do everything you need !

I suggest RAGNARS FORGE for your web purchase. Low prices on the knives as well as the S/H. He carries the full line of ALL the Mora knife makers .

Posted by Charlie - 12/05/2010 08:34 PM

I have a traditional wood handled carbon Mora and a clipper both knives are better values than my more expensive knives. Many use these as stand alone knives, I use them along with my larger knives most of the time for finer work. Alone or in use with another knife, everyone should have one in their kit. I use one almost every day.

Posted by Ulf Möller - 01/24/2011 02:00 PM

The Mora knife is also standard issue for the armed forces here in Sweden.

Posted by koolaidguzzler - 10/21/2011 01:06 PM

I reluctantly admit the mora/frost knives are the sharpest and easiest to sharpen outdoor knives I’ve ever handled. I say “reluctant” because the blade and handle style are visually and ergonomically “un-inspiring.” I own the newer synthetic handled frost knives. That said, IMO there is no better value in a reliable and sharp outdoor knife anywhere on the planet. And no knife that’s as tough AND lightweight. But I don’t carry one cause they don’t excite my senses.

Posted by Morakniv is the best - 03/25/2013 10:44 PM

Every other knife manufacturer is ripping you off.

If you haven’t used a Mora, buy one and see for yourself. Buying any other knife is stupid – unless it’s an Old Hickory butcher knife to use as a bigger camp knife – but you will still want your Mora for the sharper tasks.

Posted by Matt - 01/21/2014 12:35 AM

Mora knives are an incredible value. As much as I don’t prefer cheap knives, Mora seems to continuously deliver.

Add Comment

  1. Add link by using "LinkText":http://google.com