Coming to Market 2013. . . Peek at 'Future Gear'

The twice-annual Outdoor Retailer trade show kicks off next week in Utah. In our second sneak peek on new gear from the show (see here for our first preview post) we cover a lockable camera bag, an ultra-light tent, and a knife design said to be influenced by the grandfather of Bear Grylls. —Stephen Regenold

Trekking Pole Tent — A floorless shelter for ultra-light trips, Mountainsmith’s Mountain Shelter LT sets up with a pair of trekking poles. Made for two people, the shelter offers three-season protection via its sil-nylon body. There’s a zipper main door and a single ventilation window. Packs small and weighs about 19 ounces. Available later this summer for $130.

mountainsmith tent.jpg

Lapel Torch — A new alternative to a flashlight or a headlamp, the Snow Peak Lapel Torch, available in January 2013, gives a small L.E.D. mounted on a cable and securable with a magnetic clip. It’s made to attach to a jacket collar, shirt or pack shoulder strap and offer a bright beam for hiking or camp chores. $66.

snow peak light.jpg

High Stepper — Designed in partnership with speed-alpinist Ueli Steck, the Rebel Ultra GTX from Scarpa is light and low-profile, measuring about 25 ounces a boot. The company touts it as having an “almost rock shoe-like fit,” meaning the boots are not clunky but made for precise moves with crampons on or not. Carbon fiber midsole and insulated Gore-Tex lower boot. $539.

scarpa boot.jpg

Bear Grylls “Grandfather Knife” — A retro design knife from Gerber for sale this fall is said to be based on a World War II knife handed down from Bear Grylls’ grandfather to his father to him. Notes the press material, “Gerber has taken the classic features of the family keepsake and made it distinctly modern.” It has a blade, cork screw, flat and Phillips driver, bottle opener, file and lanyard ring. $30.

Gerber Bear Grandpa.jpg

Pocket Power — About the same size as a roll of quarters, this portable recharger unit lets you plug in GPS devices, cameras and phones for a charge in the outback. The kit, made by Goal Zero, also includes a 3.5-watt solar panel that folds to fit “in a pocket or purse.” Together, the portable power station weighs less than a pound but can keep your electronics juiced for days or weeks on extended trips outdoors. Available this fall for $200.

goal zero solar.jpg

‘Lockable’ Camera Bag — The Camsafe V8 bag from Pacsafe has steel wire netting embedded in its body fabric. The zippers lock closed, too, providing a pilfer-proof case made for camera gear. Padding inside keeps your SLR safe from knocks while traveling or outdoors on the move. $130.

pacsafe camera bag.jpg

Ultimate Outdoor T-shirt — Breathable, odor-resistant, and tough. Those are characteristics of a new shirt from Rab, the Helium Tee, which employs two types of fabric. A treated polyester makes up the front side, while a panel of Cocona fabric is used on back and under the arms that’s touted to have better breathability and quicker drying. Rab positions the wear-for-a-week shirt as a fighter of the infamous “synthetic funk” syndrome common to many outdoor tops. $37.

rab cocona shirt.jpg

Sporty Bifocals — Coolest old man glasses ever? Kidding. Smith Optics’ Chief Bifocal glasses have magnification on their lower half for anyone needing an extra vision boost. Up-close tasks like map reading and fly-tying are scenarios where the magnification could be a boon for people needing that added crispness on the details outdoors. Late summer release date for $139.

smith bifocals.jpg

‘Cooling’ Cap — Made for sweaty outdoor pursuits and things like ultra races, the Quasar Running Cap from Mountain Hardwear offers an airy but sun-blocking shield. Mesh sides and a wide brim are standard touches. A more unusual bonus: Hardwear added its new-fangled Cool.Q ZERO fabric to the lid, which gives off a cooling sensation when soaked with sweat. $35.

mh hat.jpg

Vacuum Bottle of Yore — This retro coffee container, called the Stanley Limited Edition 100th Anniversary bottle, borrows from a design your great-great grandpa might have used. Cap screws off and has a second purpose as a mug. Metal casing and a “vintage Hammertone green finish” included. Two sizes for sale next spring. $38.

stanley thermos.jpg

iPhone Armor — This protective iPhone case, called the Freedom IP from Brunton, has a solar panel “kickstand” that folds out to provide power. A built-in battery backup, which can be powered up via a wall outlet at home or the solar panel, gives “two full charges to your phone” for extended use outside. Compatible with iPhone 4 and 4s. Will cost $60.

brunton iphone charger.jpg

Luggage for a Gear Junkie — Built to haul mucho gear and live through the rigors of foreign airports and long trips across the globe, Eagle Creek offers its Gear Warrior Wheeled Duffel. (We love the name!) It comes in two sizes and has features any gear junkie will love, including durable wheels, rugged construction, a helmet strap on top, interior and exterior compression straps, and a zip-shut separate pocket for wet and stinky clothing at the end of a trip. Capacities of the cases are 5,450 or 6,200 cubic inches of space. For sale in November for $285 and $310.

eagle creek.jpg

Tactile Rope — For added safety, near each end of the BiCo Sense climbing rope from Mammut the sheath changes in its construction, providing a new texture that’s felt by the belayer as he or she pays out line. Visual cues on the sheath also let climbers know when they are near the end of the rope, adding extra safety. Comes in 60- and 70-meter lengths starting at $280.

mammut rope.jpg

Technical Blanket — Brooks-Range calls its new Cloak product a sleeping bag. But this is really a “technical blanket,” a down quilt with no bottom insulation that’s built for sleeping outdoors on a pad. The advantage is an extra light load — the 45-degree rated Cloak weighs only 13 ounces and packs up super small. Sold in models with 45-, 30-, and 15-degree temp ratings. Pricing ranges from $249 to $369.

brooks range sleeping bag.jpg

Rope Collar — Made of a 7mm rope, Ruff Wear says its Knot-a-Collar settles more comfortably into fur than the traditional flat webbing alternative. Comes tied with sliding fisherman knots for adjusting the rope collar to precisely fit your dog. Safety touch: An integrated reflectivity in the rope weave offers low-light visibility when you and your canine are on a roadside run. $23.

ruff collar.jpg

ruffwear collar.jpg

Fisherman’s Delight — Stable and supporting of up to 500 pounds, the Mirage Pro Angler 12 from Hobie will be marketed as “the most versatile fishing boat to ever come out” from the company. Made in California, the hybrid kayak is 12 feet long and 36 inches wide. It has pedal-activated fins that allow you to propel the craft forward with your feet while keeping your hands free to cast and reel in the big bites. $2,549.

hobie boat.jpg

Neo Fanny Pack — OverLand Equipment’s go at the fanny pack includes an adjustable strap that lets you wear it on the hips or like a messenger bag slung over a shoulder. Made for biking and travel, the multi-pocketed pack holds passport, map, phone, credit cards, cash. . . whatever you need to stuff inside. $40.

overland bag.jpg

Alpine Influenced — Backpacking brand Granite Gear hopes to dabble in more vertical landscapes with its Leopard AC, a 58-liter pack with ice axe loops and a place to attach crampons. A removable lid and roll-top closure make for a modular creation that can be skimmed down for a summit day. (Weighs 2 lbs, 12 oz. with lid removed.) Men’s and women’s fit versions coming to market next year for $250.

granite gear pack.jpg

—See GearJunkie’s latest OR Show reportage on our new special section, “Outdoor Retailer Coverage,” and in the articles “Future Gear Extravaganza! 2012 Outdoor Retailer Preview” and “Coming to Market 2013. . . Peek at Future Gear.”

Posted by Nick - 07/27/2012 11:56 AM

The Mountainsmith tent looks interesting, and the price is decent.

Posted by Linda Nervick - 07/27/2012 12:20 PM

Nice!

Posted by david ayumwi lyimo - 07/30/2012 11:27 AM

I LIKE TO GET A SAMPLE OF ONE BACKPACK SO I CAN SHOW A PEOPLE AND ORDER THAT I HAVE A LOT OF FRIEND NEED THAT SO IF YOU CAN SEND ONE F ME I WILL LIKE THAT

Posted by simon akawambanani - 07/30/2012 01:24 PM

OH MY GOD DUDE ME TOO I KNOW PRINCE ABUDABI OF CONGO DRC DAMN SON SEND ME A BACKPACK TOO YOLO SWAG FOSHIZZLE MY BELIEBERS.

Posted by Kyle - 08/01/2012 12:53 PM

Wow, I want that Bear Grylls knife. Anything related to WW2, plus hey, its another Bear Grylls item, good stuff.

Posted by Christopher Sorel - 08/01/2012 12:55 PM

Love the Bear Grylls “Grandfather Knife’ because reminds of my granddads knife

Posted by Chris - 08/01/2012 12:57 PM

I could really use the Bear Grylls “Grandfather”, it looks perfect for slicing open large dead mammals for extracting their liquids in a life/death situation, and then taking paper thin filets for roasting over an open fire! Thanks

Posted by Dave - 08/01/2012 12:57 PM

I gotta get one of those BG knives, it is so much like the first knife my Dad bought me when I was a kid it’s spooky. True class.

Posted by Brandon Burm - 08/01/2012 12:58 PM

I would totally be all over the duffle bag. That thing is awesome and would allow me to pack more efficiently and be able to carry it multiple ways when I have to carry my fiancees luggage too, epecially during a camping trip!

Posted by Jeff Enman - 08/01/2012 01:02 PM

The Iphone Armor looks like a must have!!! Makes going “away” much easier, but you still have the backup of having your phone in case you need to get in touch with someone. For $60 I can see this one selling out!!!

Posted by tom eversole - 08/01/2012 01:02 PM

what a combo the grandfather knife from gerber and the stanley thermos like the one grandpa had for his coffee, no thats a match any grandfather would be proud to pass down to his grandkids!

Posted by Brian - 08/01/2012 01:02 PM

I really dig that Grandfathers knife. Reminds me of my “Old Timer”

Posted by laura l. - 08/01/2012 01:06 PM

I am nothing but extremely excited about all the new products! I truly will require several of your new products, seriously! That ultralight tent, the portable power resources you’ve got to offer, the clothes, the accessories ( fan ‘o fanny pack heh) , and that g-pa grylls inspired blade! My heart is on the water and i have to say hands down that fishing kayak/boat must be mine. Its terribly brilliant, i could propel the boat without my hands! Incredible!! Love the size, love everything about it! Sure would be sweet to have to put in the river today!! Cheers!

Posted by kegger63 - 08/01/2012 01:08 PM

Bear Grylls “Grandfather Knife” for sure! Retro and functional for one, and designed after Bear Gryll’s “hand me down” knife, my pocket knife from my father was a 3 blade uncle Henry, but the “grandfather” is loaded with class, style and function! Huge fan of Bear Grylls so will be looking for this knife for sure! And who knows? Maybe pass this on to my son…

Posted by Jennifer Trimble - 08/01/2012 01:10 PM

I would love to try the high stepper boots. As a female there are not many options out there for dependable boots. If they have good traction they are heavy, if they are breathable they are too wide. These boots look like they would be perfect for a female who enjoys exploring and adventuring!

Posted by John - 08/01/2012 01:10 PM

Everything old is new again and the Bear Grylls “Grandfather Knife” proves it! When I read the article this knife reminded me of the Old Timer my dad carried. He used it for everything from slicing apples to opening letters. There’s something to be said for the craftsmanship and design, and the good feelings about being a son that this knife evokes. I’d love to have one!

Posted by Jason Ferguson - 08/01/2012 01:13 PM

I would love to have the Fisherman’s Delight. I haven’t got a boat now but it would be awesome to have something like this and be able to get into those hard to see (and get to) spots.

Posted by Tyler Bors - 08/01/2012 01:13 PM

I really like the technical blanket. It would fit great on the bottom of my hammock to keep my back warm when it’s too warm for a sleeping bag.

Posted by Michael Grimaldi - 08/01/2012 01:14 PM

I would definitely go with the Helium Tee from Rab so that I can go on my research trips without smelling like an old gym locker room while staying cool.

Posted by Tom Hinderman - 08/01/2012 01:14 PM

A Gerber grandfather knife is just too good to BEAR. It was a GRYLLy good idea to bring back a classic design and put a modern spin on it. It looks like it’s a CUT above the competition. It certainly wasn’t GRANDFATHERed in, serious thought was put into this knife. You won’t get CORKSCREWed if you pick one up. LANYARD yourself one asap!

Posted by Steve - 08/01/2012 01:16 PM

The‘Lockable’ Camera Bag looks like some thing I could really use. I take alot of pictures hiking and the padded case would be really nice.

Posted by Mike L - 08/01/2012 01:17 PM

I would love to try out the Fisherman’s Delight Boat! A great way to get on the water and get your workout while doing zero damage to the environment. Its a win/win.

Posted by james - 08/01/2012 01:18 PM

hands down the grandfather knife is where it is at. It reminds me of the old cattle knife my dad has. I love the “old” designs for knives. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

Posted by Jennifer Trimble - 08/01/2012 01:18 PM

I really want to try the high stepper boots. I need a good pair of dependable boots. Baseball cleats are just not mountain climbing material, so says my bloody knees!

Posted by Ed - 08/01/2012 01:23 PM

The fishermans delight is an ingenious design. The first of its kind and what looks to be a great design. This kayak looks like a hybrid between the old float tube and canoe. This would be great for someone like me that often fishes in a boat alone. I am often on the water with other canoes, but I am always having trouble fishing because I have to control my boat by myself. Awesome idea … would love to have one!

Posted by Cian Hutchinson - 08/01/2012 01:28 PM

Awh man I’d love all of this stuff! What really does stand out though is the Gerber-Bear Grylls grandfather knife. I am a knife junkie and this thing is amazing. It’s style is purely practical with a classy vintage finish (looks the business). What more do you need from an outdoor tool ? Plus it’s Gerber made Bear Grylls. Whatever they make, is top class, whatever they make thats’s made with his inspiration and green light, is bound to be a truely amazing piece of tech!

Posted by Dan - 08/01/2012 01:31 PM

I always wished my grandfather gave me something like this knife. It has everything you’ll ever need…Corkscrew for the wife, a bottle opener for myself, and a knife blade to cut shit up! Make my dreams come true…

Posted by Rich Wiatrowski - 08/01/2012 01:32 PM

Out of all three of these new release articles, I love the Oregon-Made Multitool by Gerber the most. Not only will I have an incredible well made mutlitool, I can scream SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIFT everytime I need it! What? You need pliers? SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIFT!!!!!!
Oh, you need a screwdriver? SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIFT!!
A tiny pry bar? Why yes I do! SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIFT!! :)

Posted by Jeanne Garland - 08/01/2012 01:33 PM

Loving the Pocket Power, if it really can do as promised it would be amazing. With all of the outdoor off the beaten path paintball games we produce this would be a welcome tool.

Posted by John M Hazlett - 08/01/2012 01:37 PM

A Grandfather Knife haiku, by John Hazlett

Knife like my Grandpa’s;
good tools for a hard day’s work;
fine prize to pass down.

thank you.

Posted by Lane - 08/01/2012 01:42 PM

While the “Bear” knife is nice enough (good price point), and the Mountainsmith tent would lighten my load, I’d really have to go for the Granite Gear pack. I’ve got a solid e-frame for trips with the boys in tow, but when it’s just me it would be awesome to not have to lug the monster pack.

Posted by Tadeusz - 08/01/2012 01:44 PM

The new Leopard AC by Granite Gear looks like my father’s gear back in the days. This backpack will enable me to hike in the 1980s style!

Posted by Chad Boyd - 08/01/2012 01:56 PM

I want that Fisherman’s Delight boat. I really need a better fishing boat and that looks like it would be a fun way to get a few buddies together and hit the water and have a blast while catching some supper. Of course, I would need a good knife for cleaning all of those fish!

Posted by James Kennedy - 08/01/2012 01:58 PM

The Neo Fanny Pack is the bomb! It makes everything so much easier to have all your stuff in one place and organized. That way you don’t lose it! OverLand Equipment Company has the highest quality bags you can buy and these will last you a lifetime! I love their bags and other accessories and can’t wait until this great innovation on an old idea is available!

Posted by Jon Amon - 08/01/2012 01:59 PM

I would love to have the grandfather knife looks similar to the one my grandfather had.

Posted by Aaron Harvey - 08/01/2012 01:59 PM

I would really like the Bear Grylls “Grandfather Knife”. It reminds me of the knife my grandma gave me when I was 6 years old. Five years later I sold it in a family yard sale. 14 years after the sale, I seen the little knife on a customers keys. I asked her about it and she said a little boy sold it to her for 50 cents at a yard sale. I tried to get her to sell it back to me. But she really liked it. I miss that knife. But I especially miss grandma.

Posted by Bake - 08/01/2012 02:05 PM

My grandpappy killed a bear with his bare hands. I’m not quite the man he was, so I’ll have to pick up the Grandfather knife and kill one with my Bear knife… or just whittle on some sticks by the fire.

That Mountainsmith shelter looks dope, too. Not digging the new colors Granite Gear is rocking.

Posted by Kevin - 08/01/2012 02:13 PM

I’d use the corkscrew to open wine to share with my grandpa; bottle opener to cheers a microbrew with my dad; and knife to shotgun a canned beer with my friends. Now that’s some multi-functionality that even Bear Grylls can drink to!

Posted by Matt B. - 08/01/2012 02:32 PM

the Mountain Hardwear Cooling Cap looks like it’s EXACTLY what I need for my upcoming Mt. St. Helens climb. I have absolutely saturated some of my “regular” caps with sweat on previous climbs.

Posted by Adam Willis - 08/01/2012 02:55 PM

power in you pocket… what a great piece of gear for backpacking you can finally get away from it all but still have the ability to use some rechargeable electronics and not worry about the battery going dead and being left with unwanted/ useless weight. that will be sweet to see in the future and even better to own and use.

Posted by Ted Beckley - 08/01/2012 03:28 PM

For me I would have to say the Pocket Power solar panel is the one I would have to choose. I do a lot of traveling with my military unit out to the field and in today’s realm social media is how you let family and friends know what you are doing. I’ve been out to the field and there’s no place to plug in so you can charge up your camera, phone, or other electronic device. With more and more things these days electrically powered a good solar panel that fits into your pocket and is a space saver is one thing you shouldn’t leave home without.

Posted by Jennifer Reed - 08/01/2012 03:32 PM

The luggage for gear junkie is what I’m looking forward too. It looks like it can take a beating and I can cram it full of stuff. I travel a lot between New York state and Texas as my husband works for the border patrol in Texas and our family is back home in upstate new york. My luggage takes a beating and usually doesn’t seem to last me more than 2 trips before I need to start looking for a new bag for travel. Given that I travel back and forth a minimum of 4-5 times a year for the last 4 years with a toddler in tow driving or even flying between states, that’s alot of luggage to go through. Btw my record time for a drive from ny to TX non stop (besides gas food and bathroom) is 29 hours . And that was in a uhaul.

Posted by fowler j - 08/01/2012 05:16 PM

I think the power pocket would be very valueble in this new tech savy world. Gerneraly I prefer to do eveything the old fashion way. However, it would make a great gift for my pa who now uses alot of new technology.

Posted by Vadim Olshansky - 08/01/2012 05:24 PM

Mammut’s tactile rope seems like a no-brainer that companies should have added years ago. It has to be negligible in weight but is such an awesome addition, especially for limited lighting conditions. Awesome!

Posted by Andy S. - 08/01/2012 05:44 PM

GBGGK (Gerber Bear Grylls Grandfather Knife) perfect blend of old and new, like Betty White.

Posted by Sean Kearns - 08/01/2012 06:15 PM

Growing up in Pennsylvania, my grandparents had a house in the Pocono Mountains. I would go up there with my grandfather on holidays and during the summers when we’d have family get to togethers up there. My grandfather was a primitive survival guy and was a firm believer in being able to survive on the bare minimum and he instilled that into me on our trips into the wilderness. One of the first knives I ever received was a basic Swiss Army Knife from my grandfather. I STILL have it. The Bear Grylls Grandfather knife is a throwback to the knives GRANDADS would carry when they brought their grandson’s into the wilderness and introduced them to nature. Those are some of the fondest memories I have of my childhood and that knife brings them back.

Posted by Pj alaniz - 08/01/2012 08:29 PM

The fishermans delight looks like a a great boat for bay fishing. That’s something I try to do as often as I can. And good thing it’s coming out next year I have been looking for a kayak style boat to purchase after I graduate. I now know that the fishermans delight is going to that boat. Now I can’t wait to graduate to get myself a graduation gift.

Posted by kevin jenks - 08/01/2012 10:46 PM

I like the Pocket Power can use it anywhere.

Posted by Chris B - 08/02/2012 06:49 AM

Bear Grylls “Grandfather Knife” – looks like a good replacement for my old boy scout knife. I might have to get one when they are released.

Posted by Alex Yaroch - 08/02/2012 09:20 AM

I’d have to say the one thing I’ll definitely be buying is the Rope Collar by Ruff Wear. I’ve noticed the collar my dog wears right now rubs under her neck some, and I’ve been looking for something a bit different.

Posted by Dan - 08/02/2012 09:27 AM

The Grandfather Knife is classy! I wonder if the Rope Collar would work well on my Pitty.

Posted by Carl Huber - 08/02/2012 09:31 AM

Oh man, all of that is so freaking sexy. I love that kayak! It looks like a throne fit for a fisher king. Get it?

Posted by Edward - 08/02/2012 09:32 AM

The Bear line has been good to me so far, and that knife would make a great gift to my orange hating father, so that is sold. I have to say that I am not normally and aesthetics person but I am kind of tired of the “hipster” look. The glasses and the cap would be tossed, even if they were a gift…

Posted by Ari - 08/02/2012 09:36 AM

On second thought, hand me the Grandfather Knife so I can put “Stinky Larry” out of my misery….

Posted by David Bryant - 08/02/2012 09:37 AM

My pups love to be outdoors with me. As soon as I get my gear out they are at the door. Usually where I go they don’t need to be tethered but when they are I would like them to be comfortable. I will definitely be ordering 2 of those collars for my boys.

Posted by Trevor Ralph - 08/02/2012 09:41 AM

I would like to have that cool boat, the Fisherman’s Delight that would come in really handy for me living here in Vancouver close to the water.

Posted by Alex Sweetman - 08/02/2012 09:41 AM

Alpine Influenced— I would have the Alpine Influenced Rucksack as i am doing the Duke Of Edinburgh Award and need a new Rucksack so i would have this and it is a good price aswell.

Posted by Troy M. - 08/02/2012 09:43 AM

Wow! That Mirage Pro Angler 12 is fantastic. I’ve been looking for a replacement for my old aluminum canoe and this thing looks amazing! The canoe is great with two people in it but when I fish solo it’s a real pain in the ass to maneuver in tight, log ridden spots while casting and reeling. Don’t even get me started on the time I hooked a 5 pound Largemouth and my friend and I flipped the canoe in Frog Creek trying to land the bastard. Been doing the paddle boat whole fishing solo but think I look a bit stupid sitting central on that while doing the fishing thing.

Posted by Jason K - 08/02/2012 09:44 AM

I gotta say that I love that Grandfather Knife. It reminds me of not only one of my granddad’s knives but also one of my dad’s knives. A really nice best of both worlds that I would love to have – screw driver bits to make simple adjustments if needed, a corkscrew to open a bottle of wine for my wife (dont really need the bottle opener if you know the right tricks), and a good single blade to cut up an apple or cheese in a manly, non-swiss army looking knife.

Posted by James K - 08/02/2012 09:58 AM

To many great choices, love the back packs, the kayak and the chargers for electronics, all three would make for a great week in the camp, to be able to catch the fish with the kayak, carry all the equipment with the back packs and keep lights and yes iphone charged for nights with the kids, or reading a book

Posted by David Yap - 08/02/2012 10:09 AM

Talking about future gadget, it could be pretty interesting. Power has been human best friend after Nickolai tesla came a success from his first experiment. I would like to see pocket power by goal zero in 2013. It is size as small as possible so it fits in pocket and weight less than a pound. This would be a burden for hikers. What would you say? A power station that weights like a pack of tissue. Not a problem! Plus, it’s solar power. A sustainable source of energy that would never die. I also understand that this is waterproof and there’s a power pack which mean that the power we collect during the day can be use at anytime that pleases us. USB based charging system, which most phone or gps system are a friend to this product. No more worries of power plug finding.

Posted by Colin Beesley - 08/02/2012 10:24 AM

Loving the Bear Grylls Grandfather Knife. The other half insists I “spend way to much money on knives for my Scouting pursuits, and they are all pretty much the same”. It is many years since my last ‘knife with a corkscrew’ gave up the ghost, since then, I have mainly had survival knives, multitools, single blade folders and lock knives. After working hard through the day, using your knife for many different tasks, the final task of opening a bottle of vino would be great!

Posted by George Goers - 08/02/2012 10:28 AM

I Will definitely want to pick up the grandfather knife it reminds me of the SA my Poppy had. His disappeared from a nursing home after he passed.

Posted by Dawn Seeman - 08/02/2012 10:31 AM

The “Cooling Cap” is a Amazing hat, surely getting myself one. My Husband will no longer be able to call me a “HOT HEAD”.

Posted by Bobby Redfern - 08/02/2012 10:34 AM

The Bear Grylls Grandfather Knife is just awesome. It reminds me of the knife that my grandpa gave me when I was younger. This knife would be something I could pass on to my kids. Really cool, love to get my hands on one.

Posted by Martin Lopez - 08/02/2012 10:34 AM

Loved the rope necklace! Super original and also very aesthetic!

Posted by GG-GJ - 08/02/2012 10:43 AM

I would totally get the “Bear Grylls Grandfather Knife.” It has that old time swag you can’t get anymore with a modern twist. And it’s only 30 bucks :)

Posted by Daniel stronge - 08/02/2012 10:50 AM

I would love that leopard AC rucksack. I haven’t got a rucksack quite big enough at the moment and I think that looks perfect for a charity event I’m planning!

Posted by Aaron Kennedy - 08/02/2012 10:56 AM

I have to admit that I don’t have a great need for another knife. That being said, I rarely “need” another knife. I have many of them because I love them. They are wonderful tools that with a little creativity and ingenuity solve many of my daily problems. The Bear Grylls “Grandfather Knife” is a very nice looking knife with what I might refer to as a “conservative design.” I would really like to get my hands on it but not so much for myself. I would like to present it to my father as a gift. My father, who introduced me to the wonderful world of sharp, pointy, objects when I was a young boy, gives me a knife every year for Christmas and has for years. On several occasions I’ve given him knives as a gift too, only to see them shelved and rarely if ever carried or used. He always seems to revert back to the old brass bolstered, wood handled folding knives that greatly resemble the Grandfather Knife.

I’ve purchased him top-of-the-line one handed opening, spring-assisted, pocket clipped, dummy corded, CAD designed wonders with handles made of carbon fiber, micarta, and space-age plastics. They’ve been made of marvelous steels that never rust, never dull and apparently can cut through anything. Never-the-less, they sit atop his dresser and never get touched. It looks like a poorly designed display with a light coat of dust.

Much as he won’t shoot a rifle whose stock is made of plastic or that is black instead of being blued, and he won’t cook food in a microwave, and he won’t shoes that don’t have a 100% leather upper, he won’t carry a knife that looks like it was made in the 20th century.

All that being said, I walk into his house and catch him watching Bear Grylls frequently. He likes to point out how crazy Mr Grylls is to pull some of the stunts he pulls but he is intrigued by him and seems to really enjoy watching him survive each of his escapades. At deer camp last Fall, he actually decided that he needed to show my brother-in-law, cousin, nephew and myself a couple of “tricks” he learned from “Ol’ Bear.”

So, to sum things up, I think my father would actually carry this knife and get a lot of use out of it (so long as he didn’t build a display case for it and hang it on the wall). I think it fits the bill appearance-wise in that it looks like a traditional pocket knife but it looks like it would be very useful as a tool

Posted by Jeff Jewkes - 08/02/2012 10:58 AM

I would love to have the Bear grandfather. I am looking for something to give my son for our first camping trip. Would make a great gift and story for him to have.

Posted by Jess - 08/02/2012 11:23 AM

As an avid camper, but someone who also loves the simple things in life, I am looking forward to checking out the trekking pole tend. Looks like it will keep me protected from the elements but still give me that feeling of being part of the outdoors at the same time!

Posted by Ric Andrews Jr - 08/02/2012 11:24 AM

IPhone armor with a solar recharger? BRILLIANT!! Im forever charging my phone and this would ease that. Plus its hard to charge your phone in hunting camp!! Just in time for my upgrade too.

Posted by Brian jarvis - 08/02/2012 11:29 AM

I would enjoy the fisherman’s delight!! Looks very comfortable,, portable,, and,, most importantly!!,, Functional!!
Perfect for small streams or lakes!!
Plus the pedalable fins will help you keep in shape while relaxing!!
This is definitely going on my wish list!!
Thanx!!

Posted by Edwin Bylander - 08/02/2012 11:49 AM

If i had an iphone i´d have taken the iphone solar recharger but when I don´t owe one I definitely would pick the pocket power! It can also recharge other devices than just phones and it can recharge different models too! So on second thought I would have picked the pocket power before the iphone recharger because it an provide many other devices with electricity!

Otherwise I think that the other stuff look great too, but I have the highest need for a portable recharger!

Posted by Kasie - 08/02/2012 12:16 PM

The Gerber Bear Grylls reminds me of everything my granddad was.. Classic, sleek, resourceful, and handy…there’s just one thing I can add about the knife..SEXY!! I’d love to get my hands on that one. Another thing, my happy-camper pup was eyeballing that rope collar..bow-WOW! Nice work Gerber, way to keep tools timeless and trendy at the same time.

Posted by Dennis Russell - 08/02/2012 12:51 PM

The Fishermans delight looks awesome! it would be an excellent tool to use for quick getaways and exercise at the same time, having PTSD the kayaking and canoeing really helps with the alone time while still getting in exercise and then the added fishing benefit, nice!

Posted by Nick - 08/02/2012 12:58 PM

They all are pretty awesome, but I would get the High Stepper because all the hiking boots I buy are cheap and heavy. I’d rather spend the extra money and buy the High Stepper.

Posted by Nathan Cummins - 08/02/2012 03:09 PM

I like the Mirage Pro Angler 12, The price is up there but when it comes to convience when fishing that will work out great for me. I currently fish out of my small boat. It is combersome to put in the water and well is hard to control while i have my line in the water. This looks like a great way to keep your self focused on whats at hand.

Posted by Gary Melvin - 08/02/2012 08:06 PM

Thirty dollars seems like a great price for the Grandfather knife! Bear Grylls and Gerber are 2 names that tell me this knife will have excellent functionality and quality. I will grab a couple of these, one for my Dad, one for my Son and of course one for me.

Posted by Linda Johnson - 08/03/2012 06:10 AM

I’d love the Goal Zero charging pack. Love it!

Posted by James Sigmon - 08/03/2012 11:10 PM

I like the fisherman’s delight. Let’s all be realistic for a second, how many wives out there gripe every time you hit the sunrise with your fishing gear? With one of these, you can showcase the benefits of cardio training down the river. If you just so happen to be able to fish while doing so, that’s just a happy accident. Am I right?

Posted by Vicky Carlson - 08/04/2012 12:33 PM

I like the Gerber knife. My son is going on a long trail hike and these all look like awesome products.

Posted by Tim - 03/24/2013 04:43 PM

Great glasses and goggles and caps available from Outdoorshopping.com

Add Comment

  1. Add link by using "LinkText":http://google.com