More 'Future Gear' from Outdoor Retailer Show

This week the Outdoor Retailer trade show kicks off in Salt Lake City. A crew of GearJunkie reporters will be on site to cover the event, which includes thousands of companies exhibiting in a big building downtown. In this preview post we cover a new rechargeable headlamp concept, a messenger bag with a built-in “power station,” and a water bottle with a silicone covering that’s made of glass. —Stephen Regenold

Power Bag — A big rechargeable battery pack resides in a pocket inside this Timbuk2 messenger bag, called the Power Commute. You charge up the pack at home and then plug in phones, cameras, computers, and other items on the go. The company cites it can “provide up to weeks of charging” time for small gadgets. For sale this fall for $199.

timbuk2 pack.jpg

Foam Hard Hat — A light polypropylene foam comprises the SIROCCO climbing helmet from Petzl. The shock-absorbing material protects from falling ice and stone. Bonus: At 165 grams you’ll hardly notice the helmet on your head. (Petzl calls it the world’s lightest climbing helmet.) A final cool touch: The strap buckle clips under your chin with a magnet, letting you secure this hard hat on with one hand. $110.

lightest climbing helmet.jpg

Bug House — The aptly named Nothing But Net tent from Mountain Hardwear is made entirely of mesh. It’s designed to keep bugs at bay, plus the shelter fits inside the company’s Hoopla tent model if you need protection from wind and rain. Sets up with a single trekking pole. $200.

net tent.jpg

Air Knife — France’s Baladeo releases another super light knife, the 22G, which as its name hints weighs a mere 22 grams. To achieve this design the company says “everything was discarded except the blade” and the steel frame of the handle. Locking blade included on this knife, which is the lightest of its size and type on the planet.

lightest knife.jpg

Same Waterproof, More Breathable — A new fabric from eVent, called DVL, is touted as the company’s most breathable to date. We got a sample DVL jacket to test, the Rab Viper model, and rode a bike during a muggy, 75-degree day in the rain. The DVL fabric did indeed seem superbly breathable on our first go! And raindrops beaded up and rolled off the water-tight fabric face.

event membrane.jpg

5000x magnification of the eVent DVL membrane; Westcomb Focus Hoody with DVL

The secret is in the eVent DVL’s waterproof membrane, which resides under the face fabric and is a ePTFE (expanded polytetrafluoroethylene) like Gore-Tex. But it’s different, the company states, because it allows for more air flow. This is accomplished in DVL by “a protective print applied directly onto eVent’s waterproof membrane” that makes a “repeating web of outlined triangular shapes” to add durability to the highly-porous material. Air from body heat can pass through, while water drops from the outside bounce off.

rab jacket.jpg

Rab Viper with DVL

Ultra Torch — Nearly as bright as a car headlight, the 700-lumen ULTRA RUSH from Petzl is made for extreme nocturnal pursuits where you need maximum light. (Think downhill skiing in trees at night.) The headlamp is rechargeable and has multiple brightness modes, of which the max output can shine hundreds of feet and turn a night scene into virtual day. $430.

petzl headlamp.jpg

Bright and Good Price — At just $45, the Fenix HL30 may be one of the best buy headlamps on the market when it comes out soon. Ever-increasing L.E.D. technology leaps now let companies like Fenix offer a 200-lumen light (which shines a couple hundred feet in the dark) for lower and lower prices. This one runs on two AA batteries and has six brightness modes, including a red-light map reading mode so you don’t wreck your night vision.

fenix headlamp.jpg

Mountain Bag — Britain-based Mountain Equipment is coming to the U.S., and with it the company will release 36 new sleeping bags. Included is the Xero 300, shown here, a 23-degree F down bag that weighs just 27oz. $340.

mountain sleeping bag.jpg

All Natural Energy — Skratch Labs’ hydration drink mixes are made from “all natural ingredients and flavored with actual fruit.” The company cites its mixes provide electrolytes with about half the sugar of other products. The company creator is Dr. Allen Lim, a Director of Sport Science for professional cycling teams including Garmin and Radio Shack.

energy drink mix.jpg

‘Hybrid Power’ Headlamp — It takes traditional alkaline batteries. Or, this headlamp from Black Diamond Equipment, called the ReVolt, comes with rechargeable NiMH double-A batteries that can be powered up via a USB cord. Output is max 110 lumens — bright enough for any camp task. It will cost $60 and weigh a scant 3.4 ounces on your head.

headlamp.jpg

Oregon-Made Multitool — Assembled in Portland, Ore., the Shift multitool from Gerber has spring-loaded “jaws” for grip and requisite implements like drivers and blades. Two knife blades — a full fine edge and a serrated — are included as well as a magnetic bit driver and a bottle opener the company says is strong enough to double as a tiny pry bar. $100.

gerber multitool.jpg

Tougher Toe Sock — A “double elastic” cuff clamps on the ankle and is said to keep dirt out and better hold the sock in place. Like all Injinji socks, this one (called the Trail Midweight) has toes. Its cushioning throughout is increased for what the company dubs a “smooth, comfortable feel.”

toe sock.jpg

Made of Glass — Real glass is used for the body of the Eddy Glass bottle from CamelBak. How thick is the glass? Think milk jug versus drinking glass, but not as heavy. Plus, there’s a silicone sleeve on the bottles for grip and protection. BPA-free and doesn’t retain taste or odors, the company cites.

camelbak bottle.jpg

Freeride MTB Shoe — A tacky rubber on the sole of these Five Ten bike shoes lets riders “pull, push and adjust” pedals for control on tough trails and in the air. The Freerider VXi shoes, $120, are made for flat pedals with smooth rubber under the forefoot for grip and an “asymmetrical welt” on the inside arch area for added durability after untold thousands of spins of the cranks.

five ten bike shoes.jpg

—See GearJunkie’s latest OR Show reportage on our new special section, “Outdoor Retailer Coverage,” and in the articles “Future Gear Extravaganza! 2012 Outdoor Retailer Preview” and “Coming to Market 2013. . . Peek at Future Gear.”

Shop the GearJunkie Store
Posted by Christopher Sorel - 08/01/2012 12:53 PM

The all natural energy needs to come out

Posted by Akiko - 08/01/2012 12:57 PM

All I saw was that the multi tool has a bottle opener and that’s all I needed to hear. I swear the #1 question asked while camping/hiking/hanging out is, “You got a bottle opener?” 90% of the time were dumba**es and forget to bring one. If it’s already included in the mt, I can’t forget it.

Posted by tom eversole - 08/01/2012 12:58 PM

the Fenix HL30 and , the Shift multitool from Gerber has to be the 2 coolest things on the planet! everbody knows Gerber legendary status on multitools their par none the best, and you always need a good light when using one a match made in heaven.

Posted by Tom Hinderman - 08/01/2012 01:00 PM

Once a knife junkie, always a knife junkie. I’ll have to go with the air knife. They’ve pared the knife down to the essentials: The edge, and something for your grubby little mitt to hold on to without requiring a trip to the emergency room. That’s all you need.

Posted by Charles Featherer - 08/01/2012 01:11 PM

Lots of great new toys, but the number one for me is the Fenix HL30. A 200 Lumen, multi-brightness hands free lamp for under $50? Sign me up. I can replace several lamps, all of which I’ve had for a number of years with this one unit. (And to top it off, it looks great as well).

Posted by Michael Grimaldi - 08/01/2012 01:11 PM

To prevent a disaster like the one in that James Cameron movie I’d go with the ULTRA RUSH from Petzl for my intense, and probably stupid, caving.

Posted by Pj Miller - 08/01/2012 01:17 PM

Every good woman needs a kick ass Multitool in her pocket!

Posted by Val Kowalewich - 08/01/2012 01:23 PM

If I were to choose one it would be the: Oregon-Made Multitool! My wife and I do alot of RVing and tend to boondock as much as possible which means we don’t use power, water or sewage hookups and are usually far away from any sort of assistance. A multitool has so many uses that it is a mainstay of my RV tool kit. Multi’s can get into spots regular tools cannot and allow you to do multiple tasks without changing tools. Boondocking in a old 1979 GMC Vangard RV always brings its challenges whether it be a leaky faucet, a loose cabinet door or a headlight that needs a wiring adjustment this multi will come in very handy! Not to mention a bottle opener for cracking a cold one after you’ve saved the vacation by using your multi to start the RV after your key broke off in the ignition.

Posted by Cian Hutchinson - 08/01/2012 01:23 PM

I would love to get my hands on either the Oregon-Made Multitool from Gerber or the Skratch Labs All Natural. The multitool because of how it can be all you need outdoors, and fit in your pocket. Hugely convienient on those outdoor pursuits, plus it certaintly does look the part. And the Skratch mix would be essential for me as I am an incredibly active sportsman and rock climber at home and goodness knows, I could do with a boost for that!

Posted by Parker - 08/01/2012 01:24 PM

This is a no brainer. Of the three Gerber items, the Shift multitool is the must have. McGuyver would have carried one of these had it existed when mullets were cool(I think they are still cool though my wife says I’m wrong). This has everything you need to get out of a survival situation, and everything you need to get into one.

The serrated blade is perfect for cutting cord, rope, seatbelts, vines, etc. Mac always found a use for cordage!

The straight blade is perfect for carving, whittling, slicing,cutting zip ties, duct tape, etc, and doing the fine work that a serrated blade does not allow. This is the go to blade on Mac’s knife.

The screw driver is always useful for removing security panels to get access to the wire, and goes hand in hand with the wire cutter/stripper. Mac must have spent a LOT of time with a wet stone for the amount of wire he cut and stripped with his straight blade.

Simply having the pliers would have saved Mac the trouble of improvising a set. Instead of busting the cylinder out of a revolver to make a wrench, he could have just whipped out his gerber and gone to work!

The prybar useful for removing panels, popping doors and windows, and generally freeing stuck stuff. Again, this simple tool would have saved Mac from a bent blade on more than one occasion.

Finally there is the bottle opener. Mac would never use this, well, not for the intended purpose. However, over use of the bottle opener will provide you the opportunity to use the rest of the tools get you back out of the survival situation you now find yourself.

Posted by Jeff Enman - 08/01/2012 01:25 PM

The Fenix HL30 headlamp is going to be on my list to Santa! Just in time for nighttime crappie fishing on the ice!!!

Posted by John Hazlett - 08/01/2012 01:29 PM

An Air Knife Haiku, by John Hazlett

Slim and light and sharp;
the blade slips open cleanly;
poised to cut the air.

thank you

Posted by Rich Wiatrowski - 08/01/2012 01:29 PM

Out of all three of these new release articles, I love the Oregon-Made Multitool by Gerber the most. Not only will I have an incredible well made mutlitool, I can scream SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIFT everytime I need it! What? You need pliers? SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIFT!!!!!!
Oh, you need a screwdriver? SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIFT!!
A tiny pry bar? Why yes I do! SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIFT!!

Posted by Jeanne Garland - 08/01/2012 01:30 PM

I am most excited about the Fenix HL30. With the multiple light levels plus red it is wonderful and a great price. But the ReVolt is also a great price and is usb rechargeable. I would love to see the Fenix in a rechargeable version for under $100. The red is perfect for night paintball games. Which we do alot of, and the other light levels are great for setting up and taking down gear.

Posted by Jeremiah - 08/01/2012 01:31 PM

I love the new Gerber Multi-tool. I use a Gerber Suspension Multi-tool almost everyday and it has been one of my favorite tools for everyday use. The bit driver on the new Gerber Shift really caught my attention, would love to have one to replace my old Gerber Suspension with.

Posted by Tadeusz - 08/01/2012 01:39 PM

Sometimes you buy hiking gear because you need it. And sometimes – because you love it! It will be hard for me to resist buying France’s Baladeo Air Knife simply because of its design. And it’s lightweight too!

Posted by stacy lucier - 08/01/2012 01:41 PM

Oregon made multi tool, “ strong enough it could double as a mini pry bar”
Made in America, enough said.

Posted by Aaron Harvey - 08/01/2012 01:50 PM

I would like to have the Ultra Torch headlamp. It would really be handy for hunting night crawlers for fish bait. Wait, did they say 200 lumens? Roasted night crawlers might be good with a little sugar and cinnamon. Ok, maybe I’ll just use it for spelunking instead.

Posted by Dave H - 08/01/2012 02:18 PM

I’m very excited about the TimBuk2 PowerBag—I carry a phone and a computer with me at most times, and battery life isn’t always what you want or need out of your devices. Having an on-the-go solution to charging your on-the-go devices is clutch when you’re out of outlet’s reach!

Posted by Matt B. - 08/01/2012 02:34 PM

as a knife/multitool junkie, that Air Knife is far too intriguing to pass up. the lightest knife I currently have weighs in at 1.7 oz., which probably feels like a sack of rocks compared to this knife!

Posted by Ari - 08/01/2012 02:36 PM

Day 4: It’s getting dangerously cold up here on the ridge, and our food supplies are dwindling fast. The wind is terrorizing us at night while the blinding sun prevents us from pushing on during the day. My mates and I have all shacked up together given the lack of sleepwear, though I’m unsure just how much more of “Stinky Larry” I can weather. His constant moans during the night shake me to my core, eerily adding to the blackness of our surroundings. His sweaty feet seem to find every way possible to play footsies with mine, and my pinkie toes are beginning to feel violated by his big toes. The mat of hair covering his back is like a dry brillo pad scraping against mine every time he inhales, and his breath could take down the Kracken.

I’m losing it, slowly. My body cannot take another night of abuse, and my mind is struggling to keep hold of the tiny inch of sanity I have left. If only I had some way, some device to separate myself from “Stinky Larry”, some form of cocoon that would allow me to be dry, warm, and free of personal assaults through the night…something like the new 2012 Xero 300 from Mountain Bag…sigh another night of brillo cuddles for now…I pray that day 5 brings relief.

Posted by Adam Willis - 08/01/2012 02:50 PM

give me the glass or bust… i love new invative water bottles and camelbak seems to have done it again i will for sure bee picking one of those up when they hit the shelves as i am always looking for a solid water bottle that cleans easy and does not give the metal or plastic taste…. it is the best of both worlds and will look great on my desk at the office or in my backpack.

Posted by Justin - 08/01/2012 03:13 PM

SHIFT!!! I REALLY LIKE THE SHIFT! I LIKE THE SHIFT TOO MUCH! I CAN“T EVEN TYPE RIGHT BECAUSE I“M SO EXITED CUZ I LOVE THE SHIFT!

Posted by Maxwell Swann - 08/01/2012 03:38 PM

Gerber Shift multitool all the way. For in my car! Def will come in handy next time I need to crack open an ice cold one after having to pry open my car door, cut through my seatbelt, and loosen some screws/bolts under my seat to get out. Happens more than you’d like to think! (Maybe I should stick to riding my bicycle?)

Posted by J.Chambers - 08/01/2012 03:49 PM

Gotta go with the Gerber Shift MT. Absoultely a must for all situations…but extremely needed for my career. I handle property loss and have to get down and dirty in damaged homes to investigate what needs to be replaced etc…having this in my backpocket will make my worklife and playlife much easier.

Posted by Z. Box - 08/01/2012 04:06 PM

I am most looking forward to the hybrid power headlamp. It is well priced at $60 and can last a lifetime. I’m not obsessed with being green but I do think people should always do the green option even if it costs a little more. In the long run it will pay off both for you and the environment.

Posted by Andy S. - 08/01/2012 04:41 PM

With that design and functionality, the Gerber Multitool looks fantastic for advanced Arts & Crafts.

Posted by Vadim Olshansky - 08/01/2012 05:21 PM

The petzl helmet is most exciting for me. Though, they should make it in green and curl the ends a little, a la Umpa Lumpa steez.

Posted by Caitlin Barker - 08/01/2012 06:31 PM

I’m so sick of waking up in the morning while camping and not being able to feel my toes. For the record, frostbite SUCKS! So I’m really looking forward to the mountain bag to keep my toes nice and toasty.

Posted by Wally Held - 08/01/2012 06:31 PM

I need a good multi tool, and the Gerber Shift looks perfect for me! I carry my Light weight Gerber keychain knife wherever I go, but this would give me the flexibility to tinker with my car, mend my son’s bent bike part, and open the box that the FedEx guy just dropped off, all with the awesome tools I always have with me.

Posted by ccrescentc - 08/01/2012 08:52 PM

From the three new Gerber Gear, I like the Shift multitool. Seriously?! A pry bar?! If it’s tough enough to pry something that’s toughness for me.

Posted by Jesse - 08/01/2012 09:01 PM

My papaw gave me my first pocket knife when i was 10. ive carried that knife everywhere for the past 14 years and have used it for everything form trimming my finger nails to cleaning trout. the tip broke off the other day, it was almost like watchin my own heart break. i have retired that knife up on my mantle where i can still see it everyday. i will be putting the air knife in its place, im sure it will hold up just as long and ill have plenty of good memories with it!

Posted by kevin jenks - 08/01/2012 11:00 PM

Tougher Toe Sock is the best product,being a diabetic and having to watch my feet carefuly while in the water these would work out great.

Posted by willy - 08/02/2012 12:32 AM

Fenix headlamp. Great price, lots of power, AA’s can be found all over the world and charged in a solar charger. Seems a better deal than the other headlamp reviewed. Might be interested in the glass bottles (why not use plexiglass though?). And now I’m gonna rant. They make a bottle with a UV light for killing microbes. Why not include a small air pump? Oxygen dissociates under UV light to form ozone which is even more bactericidal than UV light alone—-twice the killing power.

Posted by Chris B - 08/02/2012 06:47 AM

I would like to have the power bag. It seems to fit me well. I love the outdoors and I am also a tech geek. Looks like this is the best of both worlds. A bag to carrier supplies for a quick jaunt in through the woods, and power for my phone, camera, or whatever else I might need.

Posted by Chris B - 08/02/2012 09:23 AM

I may take the bug house – I could trap bugs in it to make easier to hunt them with my Gerber Knife.

Posted by Niall Horan - 08/02/2012 09:24 AM

Oregon made Multi tool has to be my favourite. Something that has to be carried for those everyday situations along with the not so everyday in the Emergency services. Its a must have not a like to have.

Posted by William Gunsalus - 08/02/2012 09:24 AM

The Fenix HL30 looks awesome. After a knife and a fire starter a light is one of the most essential pieces of equipment. I wasn’t a fan of head lamps until college. I always thought they looked goofy and most of them were too pricey for me. But then I bought one after a tandem bike ride to Walmart so that we could see on the ride home. At that point I was hooked. Being able to see and being able to use both hands at the same time, who cares what you look like.

This one is affordable, and the lumens it puts out along with the red map reading light can’t be beat. Plan on buying one as soon as they come out.

Posted by Edward - 08/02/2012 09:26 AM

I am all about weight in my gear and have tossed items mid-excursion because they have not lived up to their expected place in my gear (if you live in SE Penn, NE Maryland, Delaware, have fun finding my castoffs!) so I have to ask about the Airknife (dimensions closed and open, etc.) and the Power Bag (the battery unit weight and the pack with and without it) All of them look good, but to be honest I could not see carrying glass with me (Camelbak) or a multi-tool that has bits that I can lose…

Posted by Joel - 08/02/2012 09:26 AM

I would love to have just about everything on that list but would settle for the Mountain Bag. Sleeping Bags of high quality are always in need and the less weight, the easier to move. Fits easily in a BOB or any other pack and keeps you warm when needed. Space saving, thermal efficiency… great product.

Posted by garrett griswold - 08/02/2012 09:27 AM

The air knife looks beautiful

Posted by David Bryant - 08/02/2012 09:33 AM

I would have to say the water bottle. No matter which bottle I use by mid day the water has flavor from the bottle. Having a glass bottle with the protection would eliminate the problem.

Posted by Bri Stur - 08/02/2012 09:38 AM

The air knife. It can wreck any other item here and not worry about getting wrecked by any other item here.Think about it, it’s tougher, I want it.

Posted by bill miner - 08/02/2012 09:39 AM

Shift multitool would be my choice since assembled in the USA at least it is part US made.
Gerber multi tools have been part of my outdoor gear no matter what the activity is. The gerber multi tool is like the American express card for outdoorsmen Don’t Leave Home With Out It !!!!!

Posted by Willie - 08/02/2012 09:39 AM

I’m looking forward to the rechargable BD Headlamp! I don’y know how many times I’ve rolled up to my location only to find my Headlamp dead when I pull it out of my bag. I always have spare “AAA”‘s, but this way I can charge on the way up to my start point! Then I can get to running with some Dingos and wrastling with some gators at night with some light!

Posted by Maureen Bacon - 08/02/2012 09:41 AM

The Shift multitool from Gerber has got to be the best new thing here I need. It has just the things I could use it for on an almost daily basis. None of the extra junk that just makes it heavy and cluttered. I love Gerber so I know this will be an awesome tool!

Posted by bradly s - 08/02/2012 09:44 AM

boy i could use a few of these things, as i am a returning soldier, i have gotten full custody of my daughter. we live in montana and are big into the outdoors. we set our treestands for this year of bow hunting and after we were looking on your page and figgured we could put some of that gear to use, from the tent to the sleeping bag. but what we really need is some good knives! shes 6 and can skin a deer better than my friends lol. thanks guys

Posted by Kellen - 08/02/2012 09:49 AM

The Gerber Shift is definitely a multi-tool I would want. I gave my last multi-tool to a backpacker down in Nicaragua, it had served me very well and was more helpful to her than me at the time. Now I find myself missing the usefulness of having a set of pliers, screw driver, knife and everything else in my pocket, which is why I would love to get this new one.

Posted by Alex Sweetman - 08/02/2012 09:52 AM

Oregon-Made Multitool— I need a Multitool because i am doing the Duke Of Edinburgh Award and i am going camping and i am learning about survival so i NEED this item SSSSOOOOO bad.

Posted by Scott - 08/02/2012 09:58 AM

The eVent DVL jacket is sweet. Make a version in camo for hunters and you will make a lot of people happy. Fall days hunting in the Midwest, you need something breathable when the rains come.

Posted by Matt - 08/02/2012 10:05 AM

I’d love a Gerber Shift multitool! All the offroading, hiking and camping we do would make this super useful

Posted by Joseph W. Martin - 08/02/2012 10:06 AM

I’m always looking for lighter equipment, so I’d have to say the Air Blade 22G. Sexy looks with Great steel.

Posted by Kevin Coble - 08/02/2012 10:06 AM

I have to say that I am impressed by the article on the Gerber multitool but I will have to give it a try for myself before I will believe it can beat the leatherman I have for quality. I have always been a Gerber knife fan but I have also always been just as devout of a leatherman multitool fan.

Posted by Colin Beesley - 08/02/2012 10:13 AM

I would love the Power Bag, often on Scout camp we have a lack of power supply, and an iPhone 4 does not have the longest battery life on the planet. With a bag to keep essential camp paperwork (emergency details for the lads etc) in, AND a way of keeping my iPhone charged, I would no longer need a clunky old phone that just does texts and phone calls

Posted by David Yap - 08/02/2012 10:18 AM

I would love to see ultra rush from petzl. Petzl has been a great and most trustable brand in making safety gears and it’s rechargeable. There’s been some great product on rechargeable using bio product and solar system which it’s portable enough to carry in a pocket. With this rechargeable head lamp, power seems to be unlimited. Not to say its loaded with a massive of 700 lumens, which it’s gonna be so bright that people gonna thinks its an incoming truck. Not only it could use as a vision for nortanal activities. I don’t skii, my country’s weather doesn’t allow it, it could save lives. How? By multiple light mode, it is able to attract chopper far away and worry less on how much power it left. Came handy if both hands are busy chopping wood or climbing.

Posted by Ric Andrews Jr - 08/02/2012 10:26 AM

That Air Knife is AWESOME!!!! 22 grams? Insane! Perfect pack knife, in the car, good all around outdoors or everyday carry. Very excited to see this!!!

Posted by Dawn Seeman - 08/02/2012 10:33 AM

I would be very interested in trying your all natural energy drink, I have been looking for something like this product for a few months now, looks like you guys hit the nail on the head with this one.

Posted by Martin Lopez - 08/02/2012 10:42 AM

The Air Knife is great! But it looks looks like a stiletto with a special thanks. I would like to know how much it costs …

Posted by Aaron Kennedy - 08/02/2012 11:10 AM

I’d really like to get my hands on the Oregon-Made Multitool. I’ve only ever owned one of these type devices in my life. When I was 17 years old and I was about to ship off to Army Basic Training, my family threw me a going away party. My little sister presented me with a little cardboard box at the party. Inside was a Gerber Multitool. It was the style with the sliding pliers that slide up and lock into place. I thought it was about the coolest thing I’d ever gotten in my life. I carried it around for years and used it for everything you can imagine. I’ve cut firewood with the little saw (it was all I had and I NEEDED firewood), pulled hooks from fish, gutted and dressed deer, and performed numerous emergency auto repairs with that marvelous little gift my sister gave me.

As they say, all good things must come to an end. When my nephew joined the Navy, we had a going away gathering for him. I decided it was time to pass on the little multitool. I cleaned it all up and sharpened the little blades. I put a little gun oil on everything and it was just about good as new.

I’ve considered purchasing a new multitool several times and just haven’t. They aren’t particularly cheap and I have all of the items that are included on even the most well endowed multitools in my tool box. That being said, they are really handy to have around and you aren’t always carrying your toolbox with you. I’d sure love to have another multitool and this one looks like a fine specimen. I really like the idea of springloaded pliers and a magnetic bit holder. Imagine the possibilities……

Posted by Brett - 08/02/2012 11:20 AM

Someon has a lot of time on their hands to post rave reviews about the same 2 or 3 products every 5-7 minutes…

Posted by Brian jarvis - 08/02/2012 11:29 AM

the Oregon-made multitool looks like a winner!!
Simple design, yet very functional!! Everything you need in the palm of your hand!! To include the much overlooked, bottle opener!!
Dont know how many times I have been out and failed to bring the most essential item!! Adapt and overcome!! But would be nice to not have to improvise!!

Posted by Brad Keenan - 08/02/2012 11:33 AM

I cant wait to get my hands on the Oregon-Made Multitool. Why? simple. The design looks strong and pretty. The claws strong enough to take the biggest hooks out of any toothy fish. If i have a boat problem I can use any of the drives and blades. If i need to cut my lunch up when im no where close to any road or restaurant. I have the blades to make that much more simple then bringing more knives and more tools then i need. What if im in 40- weather and i don’t have the strength to open up the can myself? i have the bottle opener and if i need to pray something open it acts like a helping hand. In the Canadian woods this is more then the ultimate tool. this is the way out.

Posted by Edwin Bylander - 08/02/2012 11:40 AM

I´d would definitely take the bug house. I love the design and I think it´s a great idea that you can see through it!

I have a bear grylls pocket knife from gerber and i´m very pleased with it, good grip, awesome design, great blade with an saw part.
Posted by Keith Dawson - 08/02/2012 11:43 AM

I have been looking for a dive knife. The 22G looks like it would be very useful. I like the simplicity. I just want a good quality blade that I can use to cut out the occasional rope or ghost net to release stuck sea turtle/fish. I see that much too often. I would like something that won’t slow me down while I free dive.

Posted by nwclimber - 08/02/2012 11:52 AM

Does anyone know what the breathability rating of eVent DVL is? Wondering what the cfm is compared to neoshell or goretex active shell.

Posted by Nick - 08/02/2012 01:06 PM

Doesn’t everybody hate those headlamps that are bright enough for you to see only 2 feet in front of you? or those ones that “have a red beam so you don’t hurt your night vision,” but of course they don’t hurt it because it doesn’t light anything? Well, that’s why I want the Fenix HL30. It seems to me that it will actually light up the night with both it’s beams.

Posted by Matthew Sawyer - 08/02/2012 02:23 PM

American Made – that’s why I want the Gerber Shift Multitool.

Posted by Tyler Tiger - 08/02/2012 03:23 PM

That Gerber Oregon-Made Multitool looks pretty sweet. My Granpda had one that he took everywhere and it was always saving the day so maybe this one will be just as useful. I’ve had great experience with other Gerber products so hopefully this one will be just as great.

Posted by Gary Melvin - 08/02/2012 10:03 PM

I really like the idea of spring loaded jaws on the Gerber multi-tool. I think this will make it more useful and less likely to pinch your hand. The assortment of tools is right on and it will make a great addition to my emergency pack.

Posted by Jeremiah - 08/02/2012 10:27 PM

I tried the Scratch Labs drink at their small booth today. That stuff is amazing, so tasty I bought a bag right there!

The Gerber Shift is even more impressive in person that the photos or article give it credit for!

Posted by James Kennedy - 08/02/2012 10:42 PM

The Nothing But Net tent is a great idea for those of us who like to sleep under the stars or sky watch for meteors. Here in rural New Mexico the Milky Way is so bright it hits you in the face! So it’s a great summers night pastime. But who wants to be mosquito bitten and risk West Nile? It’s back again this year already they said today. And if I have one more Desert Centipede (nasty biter)crawl up my pant leg while I’m looking up I will scream. (Okay, I’ve already done that.) This tent sounds like the perfect product for me and something I would definitely buy.

Posted by Oliver - 08/03/2012 09:09 AM

No mention of the 15g Baladeo – not as practical as the bigger models, but possibly the most covetable small present one could give.

A perfect miniature – locking blade, eyelet for attaching to a lanyard or keyring, and is a light as the average mortice key, so it can be carried everywhere. Everyone I show wants one – they’re beauuuuutiful!

Posted by Tyler Begley - 08/03/2012 10:23 AM

Oregon-Made Multitool Id love to have this tool,
Ive just recently started camping and hiking and i take a gerber axe with me every-time i love their products , And id love to have a multi-tool to take along with me especially when i go to the back country for camping you never know what your gonna run into , ive always liked the woods ever sense i was a little kid always playing with rope or setting up tents i always loved the general idea of camping it was awesome, i got my friend into also but we never had anyone to go with when we was little now we go all the time and i think itd be awesome to take the new Gerber multi-tool !

Posted by Kik_Runs23 - 08/06/2012 04:50 PM

I’m stoked for the new Injinji trail sock! I have been using their mid weight sock for all of my long runs in the mountains and I love the cushioning and fit of the sock. A good trail sock is hard to find and in my Injinjis I can stomp through streams without a single blister. Thanks for making a great sock even better and trail-specific! This is definitely on my must-have list.

Posted by Elizabeth at Ardlui Retreat - 10/03/2012 07:48 AM

Thanks for this write-up. So great development in these outdoor gadgets, especially the Tougher Toe Sock. Glad to see the inventions and innovations of people.

Add Comment

  1. Add link by using "LinkText":http://google.com