Future Gear Extravaganza! 2012 Outdoor Retailer Preview

Each summer, thousands of gear companies gather in Salt Lake City for the Outdoor Retailer trade show, which takes place this year August 2 – 5. The event gives a peek at to-be-released products coming to market next year. These are a few items that caught our eye from the pre-show buzz already. —Stephen Regenold

UFO Tent — The Mojo UFO tent from Sierra Designs employs futuristic materials like a silvery sailcloth for its body and thin (but strong) carbon-fiber poles. The space-age build makes for an ultra-light shelter that packs to less than 2 pounds in weight. But at $1,799 the UFO’s price tag is also out of this world.

sierra designs UFO tent.jpg

Power from Fire — The BioLite CampStove turns heat from a fire into usable electricity, ready to charge an iPhone or GPS device in the wilds. You stuff wood inside the unit and light it, placing a cooking pot on top to heat water or food. The $130 unit also steals energy away from the burning wood and converts it to device-friendly power compatible with a USB plug.

biolite stove.jpg

Water Gloves — Hydration on your hands? That’s the premise of the Sense Hydro S-Lab Set from Salomon, which are made for runners tired of carrying bottles or wearing a hydration backpack for water. The gloves position small, flexible bottles under each palm, allowing you to run and sip with less bouncing and sloshing until the hand-positioned H20 is drained.

salomon water gloves.jpg

Bombproof Wallet —Pelican is a company known for its watertight, crush-proof cases. This year, the brand debuts a wallet. The $30 billfold-size case is made of a tough plastic material that clamps tightly closed. It is waterproof and touted as “crush-proof” — great for protecting your cash and ID as well as media cards from a camera while on the go.

pelican wallet.jpg

Not a Kayak —Don’t call this boat a kayak. The odd and unique Bellyak boat treads murky waters between a surfboard and a whitewater vessel, offering a thick-hull creation that essentially looks like a kayak with its top chopped off. You lie down on your belly (as per the name) as it courses through rapids and paddle with your hands.

bellyak.jpg

Air Chair —As a low-slung seat for campsite comfort, the Mayfly Chair from Alite offers a breathable material mounted on an aluminum frame. It folds down small and fits in a stuff sack, weighing just 1.4 pounds for transport in a backpack. A bonus: You can remove one of the chair’s legs and convert it into a mini rocking chair to sit and sway while chilling ‘round the fire and under the stars.

alite camp chair.jpg

Crank-Arm Torch —Gerber’s Bear Grylls Rechargeable Torch gives turn-to-power light in a tiny package. The flashlight has rechargeable batteries on board, letting you spin the little arm to regenerate when power runs low. Bright, too, with an output estimated at 80 lumens on its high mode. $50 when it comes to market next spring.

bear torch light.jpg

Water Eyes — As extreme eye protection for water sports, the Wave glasses from Julbo have oversize gaskets for protection from water and wind coming in through the sides. A neoprene strap holds the glasses on tight, and if they do fly off. . . they poly frames float. $90 and up (depending on lens).

julbo water glasses.jpg

Sleeping Bag Sync-Up —Pad maker Therm-a-Rest jumps further into the sleeping bag realm with what it’s selling as a line that’s “among the lightest, warmest and most compressible in the industry.” The 1 lb, 15 oz., Antares bag, as one example in the line, uses goose down and costs $350. It’s rated to 20 degrees, and as a bonus there are “flexible synergy link mattress connectors” that mate the sleeping bag to a Therm-a-Rest pad underneath.

thermarest bag.jpg

Platy Pack —Platypus redesigned its pack line for 2013, including the svelte Tokul X.C. 3.0, which is a biking pack made for hydration and a bit of gear. The company’s Big Zip SL reservoir fits inside, and there’s an external tool pocket and an internal pump sleeve. Will cost $70 on January 1, 2013.

platy pack.jpg

Chunky Rimless — Costa’s Rockport is sold as “a rimless sunglass on steroids.” Thick temples block light from the sides, but the front face of the specs look minimal with the rimless glass. Color combos include tortoise frames with copper or silver mirror lenses. $169 and up.

costa.jpg

Light Hard Hat — Billed as the lightest climbing helmet on the market, the 186-gram Vapor Helmet from Black Diamond has “massive ventilation” but certified protection from falling stones. The secret? A sheet of Kevlar and carbon rods are sandwiched between layers of the helemt’s foam to “minimize weight without sacrificing protection,” BD states. $140

BD helmet.jpg

Magnet-Door Tent — The zipper-less Fishhook SL 2 tent from Big Agnes uses tiny magnets to seal closed. Placed along the door area, the magnets snap together and “zip” the tent shut, no snagging guaranteed. The company states the design “eliminates the frustration and noise of zippers while maintaining full protection from the elements.” The two-man tent is light, too, at 3 pounds, 10 ounces (with 37 square feet of floor space). $400

big agnes.jpg

magnet tent.jpg

Climber Pack — Rock climbers in need of gear organization might dig the Cliff Org from Millet, a pack with an internal rope bag, mesh pocket for shoes, water bottle holder, daisy chain, and a pocket for a guidebook. There’s no waist belt so as not to get in the way of your harness on the hike in. $99 next spring.

millet climbing pack.jpg

Air-Pole Tent — Pump it up! Forget poles, the Kelty Mach 4 and Mach 6 tents use inflatable chambers that give structure and support. The family-size tents come with a floor pump, letting you hook up a valve and inflate your family shelter in under a minute, Kelty cites. $389 and up next spring.

Kelty air pole tent.jpg

kelty tent inside.jpg

Air Coat — The Mountain Hardwear Ghost Whisperer jacket weighs mere ounces and is touted as “weather protection in your pocket.” (It folds up that small.) Low profile hood and full zipper. Nylon fabric is wind- and water-resistant. $165.

mh light jacket.jpg

Touchscreen MTB Gloves — Facebook a photo from your phone between laps on singletrack with the Dakine Concept Glove. The men’s mountain bike gloves are touted as the “world’s thinnest, lightest, most comfortable,” including a palm made of vented silicone mesh. (Touchscreen compatible, too.) $25 in February, 2013.

Dakine bike glove.jpg

—See GearJunkie’s latest OR Show reportage on our new special section, “Outdoor Retailer Coverage,” and in the articles “Future Gear Extravaganza! 2012 Outdoor Retailer Preview” and “Coming to Market 2013. . . Peek at Future Gear.”

Posted by Bjarke Rosenbeck - 07/26/2012 12:36 PM

I saw and tried on the Salomon water glove in the OutDoor Show in Germany. I am not convinced that it is that easy to drink from when running.

But the BioLite was interesting. Though it does get very hot and has too cool down before you can stow it away. But very nice idea.

You should go have a look at the new Petzl helmet 145gram ;-)

\Bjarke
GrejGuide.dk

Posted by Mike - 07/26/2012 04:49 PM

That Kelty Mach 6 tent looks crazy. a palace for car camping

Posted by Robert Hicks - 07/27/2012 09:01 AM

Any model number or details on the Pelican wallet? I’m liking it.

Posted by Steve - 07/27/2012 11:48 AM

I’ve have used many inflatble pole tents, they are fine in fair weather. But when you spring a leak, and you will, its not as simple as just replacing a pole. It’s an expensive fix. Gimmicky

Posted by John Wilder - 07/27/2012 11:51 AM

Hey GearJunkie- be sure to stop by the Edelrid NA booth and check out the new 19g carabiner, the worlds first dual diameter rope, and our sweet new harnesses. Ask for John and I’ll give you the tour!

Posted by Kaylee - 07/27/2012 08:11 PM

I think I’m going to have to see it to believe it with the new Big Agnes magnet doors. Its a great idea, but does it give it a tight seal?

Posted by Greg Nelson - 07/28/2012 09:42 PM

Can the public get into the outdoor retailer show? I live in slc…

Posted by Kenji - 07/30/2012 02:44 PM

Nope sorry Greg, public not allowed to attend; exhibitors aren’t staffed or merchandised to handle consumer questions and business, which is pretty different than talking programs with retail partners. If you’re interested about industry innovation and developments, check in at outdoorretailer.com and the news from the show will unfold there… great reviews like this one and more.

Posted by TheCbass - 07/30/2012 03:06 PM

Why would you bring a kick scooter to the woods >_<?

Posted by Bryan - 07/31/2012 02:08 PM

I was at OutDoor in Friedrichshafen as well and I must say that Edelrid, not well known in the USA but amazing in Europe, is killing it with innovation in the climbing arena. They have some awesome product from harnesses and belay devices to quickdraws and ropes. Check them out at the show and check out my site with the trip report at White-Knuckled. Keep putting up great stuff Gear Junkie!

Posted by Chris - 08/01/2012 01:00 PM

I could really use the Gerber’s Bear Grylls Rechargeable Torch, looks perfect for those solo survival missions through zombie infested post apocalyptic landscapes, as we all know zombies fear light!

Posted by Cristy Rice - 08/01/2012 01:00 PM

Hey Gear Junkie! I would want that Gerber Crank light. I am always afraid of getting stuck in the dark hiking without fresh batteries. This would be the perfect solution!

Posted by Christopher Sorel - 08/01/2012 01:02 PM

Need a Gerber Crank light since I always forget to change the battery and get a cranky!!

Posted by Tom Hinderman - 08/01/2012 01:06 PM

80 lumens from a crank flashlight?! Gerber hit a home run with this one. Lightweight, no extra batteries to lose or forget. You wont be left in the dark with this little beauty.

Posted by tom eversole - 08/01/2012 01:09 PM

The BioLite CampStove and Gerber’s Bear Grylls Rechargeable Torch is everything you need for camping. you have heat and power from biolite, and a light that needs no batteries! amazing that would save so much money and time you might actually enjoy your camping trip, watch out energizer bunny the bear is after you!

Posted by Drew Dennis - 08/01/2012 01:11 PM

The Gerber LED crank flashlight would be great to go in an emergency pack, or to keep in my backpack as an emergency backup!

Posted by Jennifer Trimble - 08/01/2012 01:14 PM

I want to try and buy the biolite camp stove. It is the best multi-function device I have seen for power and heat. I could see it saving me from death one of these days by being my alternative to a wood gas generator that would probably blow up. You could send me one and potentially save my life, now thats a bragging right, lol.

Posted by Michael Grimaldi - 08/01/2012 01:15 PM

I would go with the Bellyak because who wouldn’t want to go down a waterfall or three on your stomach?

Posted by Pat Perkins - 08/01/2012 01:16 PM

I would love to have a pair of the Water Eyes with prescription lenses! They would make me way more confident about not losing or breaking my glasses while whitewater kayaking! They also look like they would protect my eyes way more while being eaten by big waves. ;D

Posted by Jason Ferguson - 08/01/2012 01:18 PM

I like the Climber Pack. I love bein out in the woods, and I fish and Hunt as well as being on the a Ground Search and Rescue group here in Nova Scotia. So there is lots of opportunity to use something like this. A great addition to the gear being brought out on a hike or weekend hunting or fishing trip.

Posted by Kl - 08/01/2012 01:22 PM

I’m getting married in a little bit, so the Big Agnes Magnet door tent would probably be a good thing to have for those days when my snoring forces my wife (to-be) to relegate me to sleeping outside. At least the zippers wouldn’t reawaken her when I got up to walk the dog…

Posted by rob sparkman - 08/01/2012 01:27 PM

I’m looking forward to the Gerber rechargable torch. You never know when your going to need a good flashlight, what if you reach for it only to find its out of batteries? I’m sure we’ve all been in that posiiton before, and leave it to Gerber to solving the problem. A nice flashlight that is powered by a crank is a bright idea litterally.

Posted by Tadeusz - 08/01/2012 01:31 PM

During long hiking trips all you need is being independent from civilization, yet having a part of it with you. That’s why I would be totally over the BioLite CampStove which would enable me to recharge electronic devices and, hence, listen to my favorite music on my mp3 player in the wilderness for a few extra days.

Posted by Rich Wiatrowski - 08/01/2012 01:34 PM

Out of all three of these new release articles, I love the Oregon-Made Multitool by Gerber the most. Not only will I have an incredible well made mutlitool, I can scream SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIFT everytime I need it! What? You need pliers? SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIFT!!!!!!
Oh, you need a screwdriver? SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIFT!!
A tiny pry bar? Why yes I do! SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIFT!! (Arm stretched to the sky)

Posted by William Chaverri - 08/01/2012 01:42 PM

That crank arm torch are the kind of tool you want in a survival situation, you can has with you the best lamp in the world, but if no batteries just dont work, with a crank-arm power light you can be sure you will get light and exercise for warm up.

Posted by John Hazlett - 08/01/2012 01:42 PM

An Air Pole Tent haiku, by John Hazlett

Dwelling without poles;
rising from the ground quickly;
inflatable friend.

thank you.

Posted by Stephen - 08/01/2012 01:49 PM

The Biolite campstove. It’s power in your pocket on the go without a socket!

Posted by Damien Evans - 08/01/2012 01:49 PM

That Gerber rechargeable torch.

Just give it to me…Don’t wind me up.

Posted by Lane - 08/01/2012 01:52 PM

That UFO tent is a must have! Not only would it save weight on my backcountry adventures, but let’s face it, even off-planet none of us want to tote extra weight. Pack the UFO, whip out your towel and it’s on to your next interplanetary adventure.

Posted by Tim - 08/01/2012 01:56 PM

I want that Gerber rechargable torch. No more batteries, just wind and go. Perfect for survival, including the zombie apocalypse. I’ll take it!

Posted by Jeff Enman - 08/01/2012 02:04 PM

The BioLite CampStove is the bees knees!!! Less fule, less smoke, quick boil time, and can charge or power USB devices! What isn’t there to like? Definitely want one! Very interested in the HomeStove too for when the Microbots take over on December 21st ;-)

Posted by Aaron Harvey - 08/01/2012 02:17 PM

I would like to have the “Bombproof Wallet”. I don’t know anybody who carries more stuff in their pockets. I could literally survive for a long time with the equipment that is in my pockets no matter where I go. But I would be just that much more capable with something as cool as the “Bombproof Wallet”.

Posted by Bake - 08/01/2012 02:22 PM

The Crank-Arm Torch might make for a cranky-arm Bake, but the promise of 80 lumens in a field rechargeable light source pique my interest enough to look at it for my BOB.

I wonder how the BioLite compares to the PowerPot? Seems to me the PowerPot is going to be lighter and is a little more flexible in the fuel source department.

Posted by Dave H - 08/01/2012 02:22 PM

A “Bombproof Wallet”? I love Pelican cases, always have, and I’m sure this will be no different. The question is: it protects your cards, but will it protect your credit?

Posted by Yockey - 08/01/2012 02:30 PM

Crank Arm Torch, hands down. You may never know when you need a light, and running out of batteries, and being in the dark, seem to run hand in hand.
P.S. I would very much like to be fixed up.
P.P.S. Please.

Posted by Matt B. - 08/01/2012 02:30 PM

that Air Chair looks too good to be true. I have a habit of falling asleep by the fire in one of our cheap, boxy-looking camp chairs, which always leaves me with a stiff neck. the Air Chair looks MUCH more comfortable… and looks like it would recline you at just the right angle for a nice siesta. :)

Posted by Lee Vallentyne - 08/01/2012 02:34 PM

Wait… you mean after Z-Day hits, I can be warm AND still have access to my iPod’s plethora of music long after the power grids go down?!?!

Posted by Adam Willis - 08/01/2012 03:05 PM

it’s time to “sync it up &air it out” i absolutely love the idea behind the air tent & and air coat as if you go light what is truly lighter than air :) and have been longing for a pad that fits my mummy bag or getting a new mummy with the pad or and even lighter weight pack. So is it future yet?

Posted by Jesse B - 08/01/2012 03:05 PM

A crank arm torch is just the thing for when it becomes brillig out and the borogoves get all mimsy and such. What with all those slithy toves gyring and gimbleing about you need a good torch to avoid them without tripping, and no worries about batteries dying either.

Posted by Bryan L. - 08/01/2012 04:33 PM

I’d love to have the magnet door tent. When I wake up at night and have to take a leak the sound of the tent unzipping has the same effect as running water, when you really have to go. Plus after a few PBRs getting out of the tent would seem easier if you could just crash through it.

Posted by Vadim Olshansky - 08/01/2012 05:55 PM

That horrendous Salomon water pouch better come with a tp adapter. Those tears you have running down your cheeks from wasting money on that crap won’t be wiping themselves..

Posted by Andy S. - 08/01/2012 06:44 PM

I love anything with a crank arm, obviously. Gerber crank arm torch must be awesome, why else would they call it a torch?

Posted by kevin jenks - 08/01/2012 10:55 PM

Touchscreen MTB Gloves are my pick great outdoor use.

Posted by Chris B - 08/02/2012 06:52 AM

Power from Fire – again looks like the great out-doors meets the modern tech geek…I’m IN!

Posted by William Gunsalus - 08/02/2012 09:27 AM

The Pelican billfold would be perfect for traveling. Looks compact enough to fit in a shirt pocket for security and the fact that it’s water and crush proof makes it ideal for storing camera cards as it says. Hope to get one before heading to Israel/Jordan in January.

Posted by Matt Hamilton - 08/02/2012 09:28 AM

I’d saw my arm off with a pocket knife for the Climber Pack!

Posted by David Strawser - 08/02/2012 09:33 AM

i would have to choose the Touchscreen MTB Gloves they would be perfect while im in my treestand hunting especially if i want to get a picture of a buck or what not.

Posted by DJ Murray - 08/02/2012 09:36 AM

I am buying a Bio-lite. I camp in state parks all the time and like to listen to some tunes around the camp fire. We ALWAYS get scolded by the rangers for playing music too loud. This year I began using the small speaker on my iPod. We never got in trouble, but the battery died after an hour. This is PERFECT for my camping and hunting trips.
I might get the Bombproof Wallet too. I am always dropping stuff out of my wallet and could use something to keep all my hunting tags in a nice waterproof place that I am not going to leave behind at camp.

Posted by Jason A. Miller - 08/02/2012 09:37 AM

I want the Kelty Air Pole Tent. It would be so much easier and faster to set up for the family on our camping outings. I love having my 2 y/o son want to help daddy, but sometimes it’s 1 step forward and 2 steps back when he does.

Posted by Edward - 08/02/2012 09:37 AM

Love the wallet and would love to put it through the paces (I am very hard on my gear) and see if it survives! The air tent looks interesting but I would worry about it having holes at the wrong time, being blown away in a heavy wind, and such. The rope pack looks great as having rope everywhere is better than no rope!

Posted by Frank - 08/02/2012 09:39 AM

Definitely the Biolite stove, while I carry two Brunton battery packs, this device would make for a great Base Camp Charger, or for an emergency power station during a disaster. At the top of my list for next year.

Posted by Joe Burlingame - 08/02/2012 09:42 AM

Every weekend warrior needs these! I really want the wallet, because most wallets that I’ve owned last less than a year!!!

Posted by David Bryant - 08/02/2012 09:45 AM

I have a special needs son who loves to play with my flashlight. I had one that you shook and it would provide about as hour of light but that was dropped on a trail. I will be ordering one of the crank flashlights for myself and for my son!

Posted by David Yap - 08/02/2012 09:46 AM

Choices:

I’m a runner and the same time I love hiking, I think that biolite, wave glass and gerber rechargeable battery is a sweet pick.

Biolite really outs in a new way of charging phones or other USB charging base electronics. It’s really handy for hiker to charge their iPhones just in case they lost their way and in need of a GPS which is widely available these days. Not to say its only convenient, it’s name “bio” says it all. We only need wood, I mean “Wood”. Really?! By only using things that are easily available, we could make our own mini power station. If we could extend the usage of this product, we can power our electronic and at the same time fry an egg on top of it.

For the Wave Glass, it’s water proof. As a jogger and a hiker. In my country, humidity and strong wind could blind us for a few second. With this glasses, it’s able to block off wind and water. There are times when I was hiking nearby a worn out hill, which is very dusty and during the monsoon season, this glass will be able to protect me from the dusty wind so I won’t be blind go rolling down the hill like jack and Jill.

And for the gerber rechargeable battery torch, I would say its made from a brand that I trust with my life. There are million of china rechargeable torch out the and they way they function it is by shaking vertically, it’s really noisy and look pretty awkward. And most of the china brands runs on a single magnified LED. Kinda dim for a hiker like me. For this product, it’s loaded with 80 lumens and it’s like carrying a sun. The way it made to recharge is kinda sophicated, twisting it instead of shaking it. Would cause sore hands and it’s only 50$.

Posted by David Yap - 08/02/2012 09:46 AM

Choices:

I’m a runner and the same time I love hiking, I think that biolite, wave glass and gerber rechargeable battery is a sweet pick.

Biolite really outs in a new way of charging phones or other USB charging base electronics. It’s really handy for hiker to charge their iPhones just in case they lost their way and in need of a GPS which is widely available these days. Not to say its only convenient, it’s name “bio” says it all. We only need wood, I mean “Wood”. Really?! By only using things that are easily available, we could make our own mini power station. If we could extend the usage of this product, we can power our electronic and at the same time fry an egg on top of it.

For the Wave Glass, it’s water proof. As a jogger and a hiker. In my country, humidity and strong wind could blind us for a few second. With this glasses, it’s able to block off wind and water. There are times when I was hiking nearby a worn out hill, which is very dusty and during the monsoon season, this glass will be able to protect me from the dusty wind so I won’t be blind go rolling down the hill like jack and Jill.

And for the gerber rechargeable battery torch, I would say its made from a brand that I trust with my life. There are million of china rechargeable torch out the and they way they function it is by shaking vertically, it’s really noisy and look pretty awkward. And most of the china brands runs on a single magnified LED. Kinda dim for a hiker like me. For this product, it’s loaded with 80 lumens and it’s like carrying a sun. The way it made to recharge is kinda sophicated, twisting it instead of shaking it. Would cause sore hands and it’s only 50$.

Posted by Samantha - 08/02/2012 09:47 AM

The BioLite CampStove is my favorite! My hunni is really big into camping and electronics never last long, so this would come in handy! Oh and when the zombie apocalypse comes I’ll need a few! haha

Posted by Suzann - 08/02/2012 09:48 AM

Definitely would want the Water Eyes… I’m tired of jet skiing or water skiing and my friends thinking I’m having a terrible time because I’m crying. No, not crying, the wind is in my eyes and they’re watering, I swear. Maybe now I can actually open my eyes and stand up on my water skis, but I’m sure I’ll need something more than glasses to do so. While I’m jet skiing, I can quickly turn the opposite direction flinging my friends off the back of my jet ski and I don’t have to worry about their glasses flying off since these new ones will float. Oh, sorry.. did I steer wrong? My fault.

Posted by Troy Baker - 08/02/2012 09:49 AM

The Crank-Arm Torch really sparks my interest. As a plumbing engineer I find myself in “sticky situations” all the time. Inevitably I find my way into some of the nastiest, darkest places on earth (or below earth). 2 things I ALWAYS carry are my Gerber multi-tool and my flashlight. Typically it’s a small flashlight so that I can clip it to my belt and not pull my pants down. But with small lights come short life. And there’s nothing worse than investigating a potential sewer issue 30 ft below ground and 100ft away from the nearest point of entry and your batteries dies. I need a small, crank flashlight that severs my needs of being in the worst places on earth, AND not fail on me! This could also serve as a coyote ugly identifier in a dark club! Which could also safe my life, for a whole different reason!

Posted by Jason K - 08/02/2012 09:53 AM

The Gerber Torch looks pretty badass – compact and sturdy enough to replace a maglite mini? I love rechargable flashlights, but I cant stand the shaker style, and the others have a goofy “box” look to them. This one looks you can crank it up and slip into a holder/head mount for handsfree. Love it!

Posted by Dan - 08/02/2012 09:58 AM

The Water Eyes would be perfect everyday glasses here in the Sunshine State! Rain, ocean, and river… just about everyday I’m wiping the water off my glasses.

Posted by Miles McDonald - 08/02/2012 10:03 AM

I want the biolight camp stove because last time I was on a camping trip we couldn’t put the generator and fuel in the truck and carry it while hiking. Our gps and phones died so we wouldn’t be able to call for help if one of us got lost or severly hurt. And it would be much easier to cook with than an open flame but wouldn’t taste as good though.

Posted by Alex Sweetman - 08/02/2012 10:06 AM

Sleeping Bag Sync-Up— I need a sleeping bag so bad as i am doing the Duke Of Edinburgh and i am doing an expedition and i am camping out for a week in the wild and all we take is food, sleeping bag and a Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife to help us survive in the Wild !

Posted by Colin Beesley - 08/02/2012 10:18 AM

I would love the Air-Pole Mach 6 Tent – this would be great for both family holidays, where space to hold a week’s worth of holiday clothing and gear is essential, and Scout camps, where I could have a tent that the Scouts could not snap the poles whilst running around – I just hope they are puncture resistant – we do not do too much bowling green camping

Posted by Aaron Kennedy - 08/02/2012 10:24 AM

The Crank-Arm Torch would be a wonderful addition to my gear. As a police officer who works nights, I could use it as a back up to my battery powered flashlight. Trust me when I say that there are three tools that a police officer MUST have, a pen, a notepad and a flashlight. Without the flashlight, the pen and paper often become useless.

The other part of my life where I could see it being extremely useful is when going on outings with the Boy Scouts. Older scouts have learned “light discipline” and usually don’t waste the batteries for every mundane chore and for plaing around and shining the light in each other’s eyes but the boys I find myself camped out with regularly seem to need a flashlight 24 hours/day when they are away from their mothers, out in the woods. Their won’t be but maybe 1 flashlight left with working batteries out of 20 that came on a trip, after the first night in the woods. It would sure be nice to have this little wonder stashed in my bag for just that moment when all the lights go out.

Posted by Dawn Seeman - 08/02/2012 10:29 AM

Your Air-Pole Tent looks Fantastic! I may have to get my hands on one of those, sell my home and enjoy nature for a while. The Air-Pole Tent really does look like a home away from home… great job!

Posted by Martin Lopez - 08/02/2012 10:30 AM

I’d love the water eyes, they look perfect for rowing!

Posted by Todd Volante - 08/02/2012 10:32 AM

The BioLite is an absolute must! This is the 21st century, and life requires USB powered everything!

Posted by Arnaud St-Yves - 08/02/2012 10:34 AM

Hey Gear Junkies, I use a LOT of different flashlights (because you know during winter it is dark up here in Canada) with different battery types AA, AAA, CR123, D… it would be nice to have a flashlight that doesn’t need any of those. Like the Gerber-Grylls Rechargeable Torch maybe!

Posted by Daniel stronge - 08/02/2012 10:52 AM

That air jacket looks awesome. I’m currently looking for a jacket that’s just right for a charity mountain climb I’m planning and that looks as good ad it can get!

Posted by Ric Andrews Jr - 08/02/2012 11:21 AM

Indestructible wallet? Great idea! Love to have this for traveling and hunting license especially in the snow and cold of late season.

Posted by david hollingsworth - 08/02/2012 11:29 AM

I like the bomb proof wallet. I dont plan to be in an explosion this year but hey you never know.

Posted by Brian jarvis - 08/02/2012 11:32 AM

I’ll be looking for the crank arm torch!!
How convenient to not have to pack extra batteries!!
Great Idea!!
Very Innovative!!
Looks very durable also!!
Win Win on all fronts!!

Posted by Jason hall - 08/02/2012 11:36 AM

Kelty Mach 4, it is so nice,it would be good for us because my daughters hate setting up the tent.Thanks for the info!

Posted by Chris Green - 08/02/2012 12:01 PM

I could really use an air-pole tent. My family and I LOVE to go camping. Sometimes we travel off the the paths so when theres other work to be done finding resources, calories count! Putting together a shelter should use up as few calories as possible. Probably light-weight as well. Who wants to go camping in the great outdoors carrying another 3-10 lbs?

Posted by Benjamin Spaulding - 08/02/2012 12:08 PM

Wow. That Biolite Campstove with USB vampire power is pretty cool. At 33oz, it’s something you’d have to reallllllly want in your pack though. I’m a big fan of multi-use items, so this appeals to me there.
In other news, Biolite signed a deal today to power the next generation Delorean for “Back to the Future 4” using their next gen “Mr. Fusion Campstove”. Can’t wait!

Posted by Edwin Bylander - 08/02/2012 12:28 PM

I fell in love with the bombproof wallet! It looked nice, were affordable, and waterproof and stuff like that can be good to have!

Posted by Matthew Sawyer - 08/02/2012 12:43 PM

Gerber is just crankin out the lumens with their crank-arm torch. A self powered light source. Well done!

Posted by Gary Melvin - 08/02/2012 08:16 PM

Gerber and Bear do it again with the Crank Arm Torch! With 80 lumens on a hand charged flashlight I am going to put one in each of our cars for an emergency. Nothing worse than needing a flashlight and finding the batteries are dead! This solves that nicely and it’s a perfect size.

Posted by James Kennedy - 08/02/2012 10:00 PM

The Crank Arm Torch is just what I need here in the New Mexico desert. With the rattlesnakes in abundance this year, you better have some light shining bright whenever you go outside at night. There’s nothing worse than really needing a flashlight and the batteries are dead! I had two huge fat Western Diamondbacks pay me a visit me just last week and I tell you I literally jumped out of my shoes! A major shot of adrenalin. So for for an abundant 80 lumens of light to help keep me safe at night this is the perfect flashlight.

Posted by Akiko - 08/03/2012 03:12 PM

Is there a drop date for the Alite Mayfly chair? It looks like it improves on the things I’ve found lacking in the Monarch and Mantis, which was standalone capabilities and wider leg base.

Add Comment

  1. Add link by using "LinkText":http://google.com