This Weekend, Tune Into the Toughest MTB Stage Race in the World

The Absa Cape Epic is often referred to as the ‘Tour de France of mountain biking.’ And it’s back this year.

After a 36-month hiatus, the 2021 Absa Cape Epic could be the most exciting MTB race to date. It covers over 700 km around the Western Cape of South Africa and 16,000 m of elevation. Many call it the “Tour de France of mountain biking,” and it’s one of the most prestigious MTB stage races in the world.

Three hundred teams of pro and amateur riders from over 25 countries will compete in the 8-day race. It’s all about steep climbs, teamwork, and grit. There are men’s, women’s, mixed, and masters divisions.

Check out the teaser for the race above.

When and Where to Watch

This Sunday, tune in here to watch the live event. (Streaming is not available in Switzerland, Australia, or New Zealand — sorry!)

Here’s the schedule:

  • Prologue: Oct. 17, 11:30 p.m.-3:30 a.m. PDT/2:30-6:30 a.m. EDT
  • Stage 1: Oct. 18, 11:30 p.m.-3:45 a.m. PDT/2:30-6:45 a.m. EDT
  • Stage 2: Oct. 19, 11:30 p.m.-3:45 a.m. PDT/2:30-6:45 a.m. EDT
  • Stage 3: Oct. 20, 11:30 p.m.-3:30 a.m. PDT/2:30-6:30 a.m. EDT
  • Stage 4: Oct. 21, 11:30 p.m.-2:30 a.m. PDT/2:30-5:30 a.m. EDT
  • Stage 5: Oct. 22, 11:30 p.m.-3:30 a.m. PDT/2:30-6:30 a.m. EDT
  • Stage 6: Oct. 23, 11:30 p.m.-3:45 a.m. PDT/2:30-6:45 a.m. EDT
  • Stage 7: Oct. 24, 11:30 p.m.-4:00 a.m. PDT/2:30-7:00 a.m. EDT

And if you aren’t set on watching the stages live (we know, it’s early), don’t worry. You can catch recaps throughout the day.

Cape Epic 2021: Riders to Follow

  • French rider Jordan Sarrou (XC World Champion)
  • South African riders Matthew Beers, Alan Hatherly, Amy McDougall, and Nico Bell (who’s competed in nine Cape Epics to date)
  • Tour de France riders Lukas Pöstlberger (Austria) and Lennard Kämna (Germany)
  • Swiss rider Sina Frei (2021 Olympics XC silver medalist)
  • Swedish rider Jennie Stenerhag (Cape Epic women’s race winner 2017)

Learn more about the riders and get race updates here.

Front Runner Outfitters Slimline II Roof Rail Rack Kit
Roof Rack Review: Front Runner Outfitters Slimline II Ditches Crossbars
I’ve had roof racks on every car I’ve owned that wasn’t a convertible. But the Front Runner Outfitters Slimline II Roof Rack Kit is different — it's based on a platform instead of crossbars, making it more versatile. Read more…

Mary Murphy
By

Mary Murphy is the Managing Editor of GearJunkie and serves as the leader of Lola Digital Media’s DEI Committee.

She has been writing about hiking, running, climbing, camping, skiing, and more for seven years, and has been on staff at GearJunkie since 2019. Prior to that, Mary wrote for 5280 Magazine in Denver while working as an outdoor instructor teaching climbing, kayaking, paddleboarding, and mountain biking at Avid4Adventure. Based in Denver, Colorado, Murphy is an avid hiker, runner, backpacker, skier, yogi, and pack-paddleboarder.

Topics: , ,